Ulster GP World’s Fastest Road Race Again As Hickman Powers To Opening Superbike Honours

Ulster GP World’s Fastest Road Race Again As Hickman Powers To Opening Superbike Honours

Race action at the 2019 FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix began with an enthralling, pulsating Circle K Airport Road Service Station Superbike race.

Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison led the proceedings on lap 1, holding by the completion of the opening lap a 0.233 advantage over pole sitter Peter Hickman, with Milenco by Padgetts Conor Cummins only a further 0.38 behind.

Lap two saw Dunlop Senior TT winner Harrison maintain the race lead, but his advantage was reduced slightly to only 0.180 of a second.

Cummins maintained third, Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston held fourth as only 1.4 seconds covered the leading group.

Onto lap three and pre-race favourite Hickman found an extra gear, moving over three seconds clear of Harrison, thanks to a blistering new outright Ulster GP lap record of 3 minutes 15.316 seconds, equating in miles pile hour terms to 136.415 mph! The Ulster Grand Prix is the world’s fastest road race again!

Hickman’s pace on lap four although down on his record breaking feat from lap three, still proved more than potent enough to extend his advantage over Harrison to 5.68 seconds.

Towards the completion of the fifth and final lap, red flags entered the horizon, following an incident at Quarries involving PRL Racing’s Sam West.

Hickman who enjoyed a 5.681 second lead over Harrison on lap four, was declared race winner to take his tally of UGP victories to seven.

Harrison, Cummins rounded out the podium finishers, Johnston finished a good fourth, whilst Davey Todd again caught the attention of various astute roads aficionados, by banking a strong top five finish.

Honda Racing’s David Johnson placed sixth, Derek Sheils was seventh, PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward was eighth, Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney acquired ninth as Brian McCormack concluded the first ten finishers.

Others to clinch impressive results included David ‘Action’ Jackson 12th, Michael Booth 13th, Optimark Road Racing’s Xavier Denis 15th and lead Dundrod debutant James Chawke 20th.

FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix – Circle K Airport Road Service Station Superbike race result, is as follows:

1 Peter Hickman
2 Dean Harrison
3 Conor Cummins
4 Lee Johnston
5 Davey Todd
6 David Johnson
7 Derek Sheils
8 Jamie Coward
9 Michael Sweeney
10 Brian McCormack
11 Phil Crowe
12 David Jackson
13 Michael Booth
14 Ryan Kneen
15 Xavier Denis
16 Shaun Anderson
17 Mark Parrett
18 Forest Dunn
19 Darren Cooper
20 James Chawke
21 Tom Weeden
22 Josh Daley
23 Laurent Hoffmann
24 Davy Morgan
25 Richard Charlton
26 Barry Furber
27 Gareth Keys
28 George Spence
29 Kamil Holan
30 Stephen McKnight
31 Raul Torras Martinez
32 Marty Lennon
33 Paul Gartland
34 Donald MacFadyen
35 Paul Cranston
36 Patricia Fernandez

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles