TT 2024: Todd Realises TT Victory Dream, Pinches Superstock Hair-Raiser

TT 2024: Todd Realises TT Victory Dream, Pinches Superstock Hair-Raiser
Lap One:

Not run yesterday because of formidable rain showers, the Royal London 360 Superstock TT race one delayed by fifteen minutes following an earlier oil spillage, finally started today at 12:15 PM.

56 riders were taking part with John McGuinness MBE as in the RST Superbike race first down the uncompromising Bray Hill.

KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan’s Jamie Coward followed ten seconds later, first of the non-Honda powered riders away was twice British Superbike Champion Josh Brookes.

As the anticipated pace setters reached Glen Helen, opening an early race lead was Milwaukee BMW’s Davey Todd. 1.529 in arrears was all-time TT wins record-holder Michael Dunlop, 0.108 behind Dunlop was outright lap record holder Peter Hickman.

Todd passing Brookes on the road, continued to lead at Ballaugh Bridge, Hickman jumped up to P2, only 0.572 down on his fellow countryman.

Across the Ramsey Hairpin timing point, Todd kept P1, squeezing an extra 0.014 onto his race lead.

Harrison overhauled Dunlop for third with James Hillier, Jamie Coward closely matched, holding fifth, sixth.

At the Bungalow, Hickman almost obtained the race lead, just 0.080 of a second behind Todd.

Over the Mountain, through Cronk ny Mona towards the mandatory pit-stop, Todd (standing start lap speed 133.362 mph) increased the race lead, stretching the P1 gap to Hickman to almost two seconds.

Dunlop retook Harrison for third and was only 3.834 down on FHO Racing’s Hickman.

Coward, Hillier finalised the top six with Brookes seventh, Conor Cummins eighth, Michael Browne ninth, McGuinness MBE tenth.

Lap Two:

Post pit-stops, Todd looking silky smooth out front, edged further away from Hickman.

The gap between them at Glen Helen was nigh-on five seconds (4.766 seconds).

Harrison now first on the road, was dropping time to 27 times TT winner Dunlop.

At Ballaugh Bridge, under eight seconds covered Todd, Hickman, Dunlop. At Ramsey Hairpin, Hickman narrowed Todd’s lead, to 2.48 seconds.

Michael Evans retired at Union Mills; Jim Hind’s race ended at Greeba Bridge; Tom Robinson retired at Quarter Bridge.

Onto the Bungalow and over the Mountain, prime Hickman territory, 2.105 seconds was the lead Todd attained as we neared the final stages of lap two.

With one lap to go, Todd steadfastly keeping P1, was just over 2.5 seconds ahead of Hickman.

Dunlop in third place, was 4.380 seconds to the good over 28 times TT podium finisher Harrison.

Lap Three:

Glen Helen, lap three, Todd to Hickman +2.37 seconds, intense, close, intriguing, exciting competition!

Dunlop in third, looked to be out of contention for race spoils but looked good for third, battling against Harrison.

Only half a second at Ballaugh Bridge between the race pace setters, what a race! Phil Crowe tipped off perfectly ok at Governors Dip.

Back to the battle royale out front, Todd was holding firm, Hickman couldn’t overhaul him at Ramsey.

At the Bungalow though, Todd’s race lead dipped back, only slightly to 1.122 seconds.

Two more timing sectors, final P1 occupier, this could go either way.

Harrison was first to take the chequered flag but who was the race winner.

The answer, Todd (final lap speed 135.092 mph) by 2.2 seconds over five times successive Superstock class victor Hickman (final lap speed 135.140 mph).

TAS Racing’s first TT win, since the 2018 Superbike race.

Dunlop sealed third, 3.6 seconds in front of Harrison, WTF Racing’s James Hillier secured fifth.

Coward placed sixth, McGuinness MBE took seventh, Milenco by Padgetts Cummins banked eighth, Super Twins race one podium finisher Dominic Herbertson acquired ninth with the top ten rounded out by In Competition Aprilia sponsored Michael Browne.

Eleventh to twentieth place finishers were Sulby speed trap qualifying leader Brookes, Paul Jordan (Jackson Racing), Ian Hutchinson, Rob Hodson (SMT Racing), Shaun Anderson.

Brian McCormack, Sam West, Michael Sweeney, AJ Venter (new PB lap speed 126.200 mph), Amalric Blanc.

27 more riders, finished the three-lap stock 1000 encounter, they are as follows:

Marcus ‘Spartacus’ Simpson (21st), Ryan Cringle (22nd), Joey Thompson (23rd), Matt Stevenson (24th), Eddy Ferre (25th), Mark Parrett (26th), James Chawke (27th), Jonathan Goetschy (28th), Michael Russell (29th), Timothee Monot (30th).

Rhys Hardisty (31st), Stephen Parsons (32nd), Erno Kostamo (33rd), Darryl Tweed (34th), Jonathan Perry (35th), Paul Williams (36th), Tom Weeden (37th), Stefano Bonetti (38th). Mark Goodings (39th)

Mike Norbury (40th), Barry Furber (41st), Michal ‘Indi’ Dokoupil (42nd), Richard Charlton (43rd), leading newcomer Kevin Keyes (44th), Martin Morris (45th), Jorge Halliday (46th), Craig Szczypek (47th).

Post race comments:

Davey Todd:

“Really can’t sum it up, I feel like I’m on cloud nine, I don’t ever remember been this happy this be honest.

I’m over the moon for me and all the team, the Milwaukee BMW team, who’ve had faith in me and put their faith in me this year, I’m proud to go out there and get a win for the team.”

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles