TT 2024: Senior Race Analysis

TT 2024: Senior Race Analysis
Davey Todd added his name to the Senior TT winners list after a four-lap Mountain Course contest that provided drama, many a PB lap speed for various riders and more 135 mph laps.

Speeding away at 6:00 PM, the top two across the first three timing sectors on lap one was Monster Energy FHO Racing BMW’s Peter Hickman and Milwaukee BMW’s Todd.

29 times TT winner Michael Dunlop, looking to make it three wins in a day held third at Ramsey Hairpin, plus eight seconds behind 14 times TT winner Hickman.

By the Bungalow though, Dunlop had dropped lots of time and was soon a confirmed retirement.

This enabled Josh Brookes (206 mph through the Sulby speed trap) to take third, having overhauled Honda Racing UK’s Dean Harrison.

At the end of lap one, Hickman registering a Senior lap record of 135.523 mph, led Todd by 2.694 seconds.

Brookes in third was 3.158 seconds in front of Supersport race two runner-up Harrison.

Onto lap two and Hickman on record breaking pace, moved 8.36 seconds ahead at Ballaugh Bridge.

Next timing point Ramsey Hairpin, fans, aficionados, all of us in the press office were patiently waiting for Hickman’s name to pop up on the live timing screens.

Seconds, seconds passed and still no Hickman at Ramsey, then the update that he had crashed out (unscathed) of contention at Ginger Hall.

Hickman’s misfortune meant new race leader Todd inherited a 19.3 seconds-lead over now second placed Brookes.

From here Todd, controlled in comprehensive fashion the race, carrying a 35.875 seconds’ advantage onto lap four which ultimately was upped to a final race winning margin of close to forty seconds.

Second place finisher Brookes, recording his first ever 134-mph lap, doubled his TT podium finishes tally.

Two plate holder Harrison wrapped up the rostrum, finishing over a minute down on National Superstock 1000 Championship leader Todd.

WTF Racing’s James Hillier took fourth, John McGuinness MBE pocketed fifth, In Competition Aprilia backed Michael Browne, a new ‘130 Mph Club’ member, slotted into sixth.

Nathan Harrison, Shaun Anderson, Michael Rutter, Jackson Racing’s Paul Jordan took seventh to tenth place finishes.

29 more competitors reached the end of this year’s Senior TT. They are as follows:

Rob Hodson (11th), Ian Hutchinson (12th), Brian McCormack (13th), Julian Trummer (14th), Sam West (15th), Michael Evans (16th), last year’s quickest newcomer Ryan Cringle (17th), brother Jamie Cringle (18th), Optimark Road Racing’s Jonathan Goetschy (19th), James Chawke (20th).

Eddy Ferre (21st), Timothee Monot (22nd), Joey ‘Yorkshire’ Thompson (23rd), AJ Venter (24th), Stephen Parsons (25th), Mark Parrett (26th), Stefano Bonetti (27th), Darryl Tweed (28th), 2022 Macau Grand Prix winner Erno Kostamo (29th), final bronze replica finisher Rhys Hardisty (30th).

Michal ‘Indi’ Dokoupil (31st), Barry Furber (32nd), Jonathan Perry (33rd), Tom Weeden (34th), Pete Stacey Racing’s Tom Robinson (35th), David Rigby (36th), Mark Goodings (37th), sole newcomer competing Kevin Keyes (38th), Martin Morris (39th).

Post Race Reaction:

Dean Harrison:

“It wasn’t a roll of dice, it was a bit of a calculated change, it wasn’t a guess, because all the people at Honda, the smart people are good, they are all trying to work in the same direction, so we just tried something and unfortunately, we’ll come back stronger next time.”

Josh Brookes:

“To me I feel like I’ve won, so many times I’ve ridden past the enclosure where the top three are and today they were waving me in, it was a beautiful moment.”

Davey Todd:

“Milwaukee BMW boys’ fantastic job the entire week, Senior TT winners.”

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles