TT 2024: Dunlop Declared Twins Race 2 Victor

TT 2024: Dunlop Declared Twins Race 2 Victor
A mid afternoon treat for those-trackside watching in the Grandstand, Entire Cover Insurance Super Twins TT action.

Lap One:

Pre-race favourite Michael Dunlop, by Ballaugh Bridge on lap one, was already six seconds plus clear of top chaser Peter Hickman.

An already ultra tight fight for P3 was led by Kawasaki’s top charger Jamie Coward (KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan).

Almost 160 mph through the Sulby speed trap, 8.9 seconds, 8.918 seconds to be exact was Dunlop’s at Ramsey Hairpin.

Over the Mountain and problems looked to be on the horizon for third place holder Coward, letting Paul Jordan (Rev2Race Yamaha) back through.

Out front Dunlop still led but Hickman trimmed his lead slightly to just past eight seconds.

6.6 seconds ahead at Cronk ny Mona, Dunlop wasn’t having it all his own way in his pursuit of TT victory No.29.

At lap one’s finalisation, Dunlop (standing start lap speed – 122.451 mph) was 6.446 seconds ahead of Hickman (standing start lap speed – 121.743 mph).

Coward’s retirement saw Michael Browne jump up to third with Twins race one podium finisher Dominic Herbertson fourth, 3.349 seconds further in arrears.

Lap Two:

Early on lap two, victory chaser Hickman was re-passed by BE/RK Racing’s Herbertson, who’s Paton looked ultra swift.

On record breaking pace to Glen Helen, Dunlop moved close to ten seconds to the good.

Hickman 9.752 seconds had re-overtook Herbertson on the road. The battle for P3 between Browne, Herbertson was covered by only 1.785 seconds.

Dunlop continued to be inside his own existing Twins lap record at Ballaugh Bridge, the deficit Hickman now faced was over 14 seconds.

Herbertson overhauled Browne for fourth whilst Dafabet Racing’s Davey Todd got the better of Jordan for fifth.

As closing race stages loomed, it seemed barring unforeseen circumstances that TT win number 29 was in the bag for ‘Maverick’.

Just as lap two was about to conclude, the race was red flagged.

Race results went back to lap one, meaning a confirmed 29th TT triumph for Dunlop, TT podium number 31 for Hickman (P2) and third going to former Irish Road Race Supersport Champion Browne.

Herbertson, Jordan, Todd were credited with fourth, fifth sixth.

Rob Hodson who failed to start at the start-line and had to open his racing activities at the back of the field, took a sterling seventh.

Josh Brookes, Adam McLean on his TT return, Barry Furber rounded out the top ten finishers.

30 more racers were credited with race finishes, they are as follows:

Stefano Bonetti (11th), Pierre Yves Bian (12th), Michael Rutter (13th), Michael Sweeney (14th), Michal Dokoupil (15th), Brian McCormack (16th), AJ Venter (17th), Francesco Curinga (18th), Tom Weeden (19th), Michael Russell (20th).

Jonathan Goetschy (21st), Paul Cassidy (22nd), Rhys Hardisty (23rd), Cowton Racing’s Gareth Arnold (24th), Julian Trummer (25th), Timothee Monot (26th), Martin Morris (27th), Chris Moore (28th), Marc Colvin (29th), Paul ‘Potchy’ Williams (30th).

Mark Parrett (31st), Jack Petrie (32nd), Andy Hornby (33rd), Craig Szczypek (34th), Masayuki Yamanaka (35th), Wayne Bourgeais (36th), Maria Costello MBE (37th), Dave Madsen Mygdal (38th), Pete Murray (39th), Veronika Hankocyova (40th).

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles