TT 2019: KTS Racing’s Coward Dominates Opening Lightweight Practice Session

TT 2019: KTS Racing’s Coward Dominates Opening Lightweight Practice Session

Reproducing and some the form that took him to Super Twins pole position, at the North West 200, Hebden Bridge’s Jamie Coward reigned supreme in the opening Lightweight practice session of TT 2019.

Piloting the proven KTS Racing Kawasaki, Coward lapped from a standing start at close to the 118 mph mark, prior to setting an excellent lap speed of 119.96 mph.

Such was Coward’s pace that class lap record holder, reigning Bennetts Lightweight TT champion, second quickest from today’s competition Michael Dunlop (118.52), was over 13 seconds down on the Yorkshireman’s pace.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Third fastest Paul Jordan (117.45) impressed in his first competitive outing aboard the Dafabet Devitt Racing Kawasaki twin, whilst fourth fastest Derek McGee (116.19) showed an accomplished turn of pace in leading the KMR Kawasaki challenge.

Under 1.8 seconds behind McGee on the overall times sheet, was SC Project Paton’s in form Stefano Bonetti (116.02).

Remaining racers to top the 115 mph mark, on route to finishing respectively sixth, seventh, eighth quickest were Gary Johnson (115.80), Paul ‘Potchy’ Williams (115.42) and the evergreen Ian Lougher (115.10).

Finalising the top ten in practice were Team ILR Paton mounted Horst Saiger (114.96) and JGH Racing/CMS supported Rob Hodson (114.84).

Photo by Mark Corlett

Others outside of the ten quickest competitors from a practice session, held in decent conditions although a touch windy, to quietly impress included James Chawke (114.20), TT rider liaison officer John Barton (113.11), Rob Whittall (111.25) and Mountain Course returnee Anthony Redmond (111.20).

Full Sunday Lightweight practice results, are as follows:

1 Jamie Coward 119.96
2 Michael Dunlop 118.52
3 Paul Jordan 117.45
4 Derek McGee 116.19
5 Stefano Bonetti 116.02
6 Gary Johnson 115.80
7 Paul Williams 115.42
8 Ian Lougher 115.10
9 Horst Saiger 114.96
10 Rob Hodson 114.84
11 James Chawke 114.20
12 Dominic Herbertson 114.20
13 Lee Johnston 114.06
14 Dan Cooper 113.78
15 Michael Rutter 113.60
16 Michael Sweeney 113.19
17 John Barton 113.11
18 Daley Mathison 112.64
19 Darren Cooper 112.24
20 John McGuinness 111.77
21 Jonathan Perry 111.63
22 Rob Whittall 111.25
23 Anthony Redmond 111.20
24 Shaun Anderson 110.45
25 Masayuki Yamanaka 109.52
26 Maria Costello MBE 109.40
27 Barry Evans 109.02
28 Xavier Denis 108.64
29 Dave Madsen Mygdal 107.87
30 Michal Dokoupil 107.65
31 Jim Hodson 106.60
32 Dave Moffitt 106.54
33 Miroslav Sloboda 104.04
34 Nicolas Pautet 103.73
35 Davey Todd 102.66
36 George Spence 99.28
37 AJ Venter 77.66
38 Matt Rees 74.54

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles