TT 2017: Tuesday Evening Superbike Practice Report

TT 2017: Tuesday Evening Superbike Practice Report

The Superbikes graced the Mountain Course for the first time this year, as many of the pre race favourites showed their class around the most famous road racing circuit in the world.

Tyco BMW’s Ian Hutchinson lap speed of 125.839 mph, saw him head the big bike practice leader board.

Closely followed by great rival Michael Dunlop (125.68 mph) on the Bennetts Suzuki, you can already sense that the riders with 27 TT wins between them, have the tackle to be in prime contention for more Superbike and Senior TT success.

Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman (124.093 mph) looked in good form, as did Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Steve Mercer (123.870 mph), East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston (123.008 mph) and Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison (122.853 mph).

Dan Hegarty produced one of the performances of the evening, finishing seventh quickest, courtesy of his lap speed of 122.585 mph.

This made the Top Gun Racing rider, Honda’s leading challenger in practice, whilst Gary Johnson running this year his own team, with help from sponsors such as Reactive Parts also cracked the 122 mph barrier.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Finalising the top ten fastest competitors this evening was Ivan Lintin and McAdoo Kawasaki’s James Cowton.

William Dunlop 11th fastest, firmly lead the Yamaha challenge, Dan Stewart showcased once again his proven prowess around the Mountain Course, in finishing 13th quickest.

Whilst Guy Martin’s return to TT action, and his first TT venture as an official Honda rider, would see him finish 18th fastest, courtesy of lapping just over the 120 mark.

TT 2017 – Tuesday Practice – Superbike Results:

1 Ian Hutchinson 125.839
2 Michael Dunlop 125.68
3 Peter Hickman 124.093
4 Steve Mercer 123.870
5 Lee Johnston 123.008
6 Dean Harrison 122.853
7 Dan Hegarty 122.585
8 Gary Johnson 122.085
9 Ivan Lintin 121.824
10 James Cowton 121.633
11 William Dunlop 121.616
12 Jamie Coward 121.238
13 Dan Stewart 121.157
14 James Hillier 120.986
15 Michael Rutter 120.972
16 Martin Jessopp 120.969
17 Derek Sheils 120.965
18 Guy Martin 120.018
19 Rob Hodson 119.876
20 Stefano Bonetti 119.702
21 Alan Bonner 119.56
22 Andy Dudgeon 118.91
23 Dominic Herbertson 118.91
24 Daley Mathison 118.2
25 Michael Sweeney 118.12
26 Danny Webb 118.11
27 David Johnson 118.05
28 Horst Saiger 117.59
29 Josh Brookes 117.28
30 Mark Parrett 117.11
31 Michael Russell 116.9
32 Davy Morgan 116.82
33 Brian McCormack 116.72
34 Phil Crowe 116.68
35 Shaun Anderson 116.59
36 Tom Weeden 116.46
37 Dan Cooper 116.37
38 Dave Sellers 116.18
39 Joe Akroyd 116.17
40 Ben Wylie 115.39

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles