Road Racing News

Ten Times TT Winner Birchall Becomes TT Riders Association President

Announced back in October of 2020, ten times TT winner Ben Birchall is the latest racer to become TT Riders Association President.

Taking over from Maria Costello MBE, the first female racer to become TT Riders Association President, it’s the latest acclaimed honour for multi time World Champion Birchall.

Alongside the aforementioned ten TT triumphs with brother, most successful Sidecar passenger in TT history Tom Birchall, his stellar Mountain Course racing CV also includes the following:

# Sidecar TT lap record – 119.250 mph
# Equal on TT victories with 15 times World Champion Giacomo Agostini
# Equal on TT victories with Stanley Woods, Rob Fisher and Ian Lougher
# 12 TT podium finishes
# 14 top ten TT finishes

Aside from all the TT Races feats, Birchall has also taken two victories at the Southern 100, secured a top three finish on his Oliver’s Mount debut at last year’s Gold Cup meeting and has at present four Sidecar World Championship titles.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou