TBT: 2016 Senior Classic TT

TBT: 2016 Senior Classic TT

Today’s turn back time topic, sees us venture back to August of 2016 and John McGuinness MBE’s much anticipated maiden Classic TT triumph.

After more than a fair dosage of bad luck, McGuinness MBE, Roger Winfield’s Team Winfield squad’s quest for Classic TT success finally arose. Below is a full low down on how this happened:

Early Race Stages:

Virtually ideal conditions greeted competitors ahead of the 2016 Senior Classic encounter, which many forecast would be a race of attrition.

From Glen Helen on the opening lap, the battle for race victory would be between seven time Senior TT winner McGuinness and Dean Harrison aboard the Black Eagle Racing 500 MV Agusta.

At the end of lap one, it was future Senior TT Champion Harrison who jostled his way to the front, leading McGuinness by just 0.366 of a second.

The leading trio were both under the existing lap record for yesteryear 500cc machinery whilst early race retirements included Conor Cummins at Quarry Bends, Welsh roads great Ian Lougher and the much missed Dan Hegarty.

Early retirements included Team Winfield’s Conor Cummins at Quarry Bends, Ian Lougher and TT privateers champion Dan Hegarty, on the D&M Engineering 500 Honda.

Leaders Battle Intensifies:

Lap two saw the battle for the race lead between Harrison and McGuinness intensify. Harrison’s lead out front grew to 0.962 at Glen Helen, was reduced to 0.938 at Ballaugh Bridge, then increased at Ramsey Hairpin to 1.147 seconds.

By the Bungalow his lead was down to 0.442 of a second, then reduced further to 0.378 of a second at Cronk Ny Mona.

At the end of lap two, Harrison elected to go into the pits, for his scheduled pit stop whilst McGuinness now into the race lead by five seconds, following a new class lap record of 113.342 mph, went straight through onto his third lap.

This made a significant difference for his advantage at the front, which grew to in excess of 50 seconds following Harrison’s pit stop.

Maria Costello MBE was holding third place whilst Michael Rutter battling with Alan Oversby for fourth place, retired at the pits.

Lap three saw McGuinness firmly increase the race lead, as he showed more highly accomplished form on the Team Winfield Paton.

Current DAO Racing pilot Harrison in second place, was giving it everything in his pursuit of the 23 times TT winner, who’s advantage out front at the end of lap three was 1 minute 03.840 seconds.

Paton, MV Tussle Conclusion:

After his pit stop McGuinness remained firmly in command in the race, now with a 29 seconds advantage, as he headed onto the fourth and final lap.

Costello MBE who went dropped to fourth on lap three with Oversby going straight through onto his third lap, was back up to third with Oversby following his pit stop, now down to fifth behind Jamie Coward on the Ted Woof backed Norton.

The final lap of the race, would see McGuinness keep up a solid, consistent pace with the Team Winfield Paton.

Although his lead out front was reduced to under 25 seconds, by Cronk Ny Mona, the inaugural 130 Mph Club member winner, was within closing distance of claiming race honours.

He crossed the line to take a popular victory by 21.438 seconds, as he added Senior Classic TT victory, to his momentous pure road racing record.

Second place finisher Harrison was satisfied with second as an absolutely delighted Costello MBE finalised the rostrum finishers.

Hebden Bridge’s Coward took fourth, yesteryear races specialist Oversby headed the Davies Motorsport challenge in fifth as sixth place position holder Dominic Herbertson took the leading privateer spoils.

Completing the top ten were 2018 IRRC Superbike Champion Danny Webb, Bill Swallow, Olie Linsdell and Egli Vincent mounted Horst Saiger.

Additional stand out performances included Hefyn Owen 11th, Dave Matravers 15th, future Manx GP winner Lancelot Unissart 19th and the late great Alan ‘Bud’ Jackson in 20th place.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles