Suzuki’s Long History On The Mountain Course

Suzuki has a long prestigious history on the mountain course which includes many magic moments for instance in 1979 when Mike Hailwood won his last ever TT, his 14th triumph on the most famous road racing circuit in the world.


Photo by Road Racing News

Since 2002 TAS racing have been Suzuki’s lead team at the Isle of Man TT. In 2002 David Jefferies secured a memorable hat trick of wins with victories in formula 1, production 1000 and senior TT races whilst Ian Lougher was victorious in production 600 race to make it four wins in a week for TAS Suzuki at TT 2002.

Adrian Archibald clinched formula 1/senior TT victories at TT 2003 whilst the rider nicknamed “Scratch” in 2004 made it back to back senior TT wins in successive years in a race which saw TAS Suzuki team mate Bruce Anstey finish in second position as Gary Carswell was third to make it an all Suzuki mounted riders podium.

2005,2006 and 2007 saw Bruce Anstey win for three years in succession the superstock TT whilst TT 2008 would prove to be another momentous one for TAS racing and Suzuki.

Cameron Donald recorded his first TT victory in Dainese superbike TT which saw all podium finishers Suzuki mounted as Relentless Suzuki by TAS team mate Bruce Anstey secured second place finish with three time TT winner Adrian Archibald rounding out the top three.

More success followed in superstock TT as Cameron Donald made it back to back TT wins, second supersport race saw Bruce Anstey clinch victory following a scintillating performance on Relentless TAS racing backed GSX-R 600 Suzuki. In all at TT 2008 Relentless Suzuki by TAS enjoyed three race wins and a further two podium finishes.


Photo by Road Racing News

Since 2008 Suzuki haven’t had a win on the mountain course but there’s been many positive moments in recent years including four podium finishes in a week for Guy Martin at TT 2011 including finishing a close runner up behind race winner John McGuinness in Pokerstars senior TT.


Photo by Road Racing News

TT 2014 has proved to be a highly productive one for Suzuki. Once again TAS racing ran Suzuki’s official team at this years Isle of Man TT under the team name Tyco Suzuki by TAS. Guy Martin recorded his first podium finishes in two years at the TT with second and third positions secured in superbike and senior TT races.


Photo by Road Racing News

William Dunlop achieved his first TT podium placing with Tyco Suzuki by TAS in second supersport race finishing in third position. Plus William was pushing for race lead in senior TT before an incident halted his charge towards another podium finish.

Recently its been widely anticipated that TAS racing will link up with BMW for TT 2015 which would end a 12 year relationship that the well respected team has had with Suzuki. Its not 100 percent known whether Suzuki will be backing a team at TT 2015 but Millsport racing are linked to lead the iconic manufacturers entry into next years TT.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *