Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: Hickman Dominates First Practice Session

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: Hickman Dominates First Practice Session

Ulster GP, TT Races lap record holder Peter Hickman got his 2019 Macau GP tenure underway in the best possible fashion, by dominating the opening timed practice session.

Hickman piloting the same Smiths Racing BMW that he jockeyed throughout the 2019 BSB season, looked in ominously impressive form throughout the hour long practice session, registering a quickest lap time of 2 minutes 28.007 seconds.

Nearest challenger to Hickman was MGM Bathams team mate, RC213V-S Honda mounted Michael Rutter who’s late burst of pace saw him lap well inside the 2 minutes 30 second barrier, lapping at 2 minutes 29.059 seconds.

The PBM (Paul Bird Motorsport) Ducati duo of David Johnson (2.29.434) and John McGuinness (2.29.817) on the rasping V4 Panigale steeds, respectively placed third and fourth quickest.

Yamaha’s lead runner Horst Saiger (2.31.018) looked in good form on route to finishing fifth quickest whilst others to quietly impress included respective sixth, seventh quickest Macau GP returnee Lee Johnston and Ashcourt Racing stable mate Gary Johnson.

Finalising the ten quickest competitors from the early morning Macau GP practice stint were IRRC giant Didier Grams, SMT supported Rob Hodson and lead Penz competitor Erno Kostamo.

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: First practice result is as follows:

1 Peter Hickman 2.28.007
2 Michael Rutter 2.29.059
3 David Johnson 2.29.434
4 John McGuinness 2.29.817
5 Horst Saiger 2.31.018
6 Lee Johnston 2.31.888
7 Gary Johnson 2.32.161
8 Didier Grams 2.32.278
9 Rob Hodson 2.32.505
10 Erno Kostamo 2.32.578
11 Phil Crowe 2.33.735
12 Ian Hutchinson 2.34.274
13 Marek Cerveny 2.34.274
14 Steve Heneghan 2.34.314
15 Derek Sheils 2.34.352
16 Michael Sweeney 2.34.415
17 Paul Jordan 2.34.488
18 Brian McCormack 2.34.580
19 Davey Todd 2.34.684
20 Sam West 2.36.056
21 Andre Pires 2.36.902
22 Dominic Herbertson 2.37.670
23 Davy Morgan 2.38.893
24 Craig Neve 2.39.786
25 Xavier Denis 2.40.005
26 Dan Kruger 2.40.707
27 Raul Torras Martinez 2.42.728

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles