Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: Calm, Cool Hickman Takes Q1 Honours

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: Calm, Cool Hickman Takes Q1 Honours

Looking in his usual calm, cool frame of mind, Peter Hickman in style took the first qualifying spoils at the Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix.

Backing up the accomplished form he showcased throughout first practice, Q1 saw the five times TT winner steadily increase his speed, setting lap times in the 2.28, 2.27, 2 minutes 26 seconds bracket.

With under twenty seconds of the 45 session still to run, Hickman found further pace, recording a best lap time of 2 minutes 25.100 seconds, which placed him over 1.7 seconds ahead of the chasing pack.

Photo credit: ID/Sports Bureau of Macao SAR Government

As within first practice it was MGM Bathams team mate Michael Rutter (2.26.838) who headed the case to the 23 times International Road Race victor.

23 times TT winner John McGuinness (2.27.186) came close to dipping under the 2 minutes 27 seconds barrier on route to edging out PBM Ducati team mate David Johnson (2.27.693), for third place on the timing screens.

Fifth quickest Horst Saiger (2.28.225) wasn’t too far off the turn of speed showcased by McGuinness and Johnson whilst sixth fastest Derek Sheils (2.29.829) also caught the eye with an impressive session aboard the BE Racing In Conjunction with Richardson Kelly Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki.

Concluding the ten fastest racers from first qualifying were Lee Johnston (2.30.136), IRRC Superbike Champion Davey Todd (2.30.294), German roads great Didier Grams (2.30.504) and XL Moto supported Erno Kostamo (2.30.622).

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix – First qualifying result is as follows:

1 Peter Hickman 2.25.100
2 Michael Rutter 2.26.838
3 John McGuinness 2.27.186
4 David Johnson 2.27.693
5 Horst Saiger 2.28.225
6 Derek Sheils 2.29.829
7 Lee Johnston 2.30.136
8 Davey Todd 2.30.294
9 Didier Grams 2.30.504
10 Erno Kostamo 2.30.622
11 Rob Hodson 2.30.978
12 Phil Crowe 2.31.014
13 Marek Cerveny 2.31.122
14 Gary Johnson 2.31.218
15 Michael Sweeney 2.31.463
16 Ian Hutchinson 2.31.811
17 Brian McCormack 2.31.967
18 Sam West 2.32.428
19 Paul Jordan 2.32.624
20 Steve Heneghan 2.33.234
21 Xavier Denis 2.34.334
22 Dominic Herbertson 2.34.665
23 Craig Neve 2.35.387
24 Andre Pires 2.35.858
25 Raul Torras Martinez 2.38.024
26 Davy Morgan 2.38.557
27 Dan Kruger 2.40.331

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles