Southern 100: Supersport Races Wrap Up

Southern 100: Supersport Races Wrap Up

Supersport B:

No less than three racers enjoyed leadership of the JCK Supersport B-race, which went onto be dominated by versatile racing all-rounder Michael Russell.

2009 Senior Manx GP winner Russell hit the front on lap three and from here never looked back, twice breaking the race lap-record, lapping sub 2 minute 28 seconds on route to clinching race honours.

At the race’s conclusion, Russell finished 2.12 seconds ahead of prior race leader Don Gilbert.

73 plate holder Jack Petrie completed the podium finishers whilst an entertaining battle for fourth was won by Kevin Barsby.

Top newcomers Aaron Hughes, the Isle of Wight’s Ryan Whitehall placed respectively fifth and sixth.

French Billown course newcomer Yann Galli took seventh as another S100 newcomer Mark Jackson, David Brook, Craig Howton rounded out the top ten finishers.

In total 29 racers completed the seven lap-race at the ‘Friendly Races’.

Southern 100 – JCK Supersport B race result:

1st – Michael Russell
2nd – Don Gilbert
3rd – Jack Petrie
4th – Kevin Barsby
5th – Aaron Hughes
6th – Ryan Whitehall
7th – Yann Galli
8th – Mark Jackson
9th – David Brook
10th – Craig Howton

11th – Paul Cranston
12th – Colin Croft
13th – Tom Snow
14th – Damien Crook
15th – Russell Brook
16th – Geoffrey Lunn
17th – Brian Fuidge
18th – David Glossop
19th – Kieran Brockie
20th – Brian Clark

21st – Andy Sellars
22nd – Neil Rutledge
23rd – Daniel Capper
24th – Edward Hosker
25th – Martin Clare
26th – Keri Morgan
27th – Paul Turner
28th – Andrew Castle
29th – Paul Magnay

Supersport A:

Delayed for a short period of time, following a non-race related medical emergency, the seen-lap Radcliffe Butchers Supersport A-race, met and some up to pre-race expectations.

A race long scrap between Davey Todd, Dean Harrison, Michael Dunlop and Jamie Coward thrilled those in attendance, as four of International road racing’s top pilots duked it out for honours.

In the end after seven closely contested laps, it was Milenco by Padgetts Todd who kept his cool to secure victory spoils.

No.1 plate holder Harrison took second, finishing only 0.344 behind Todd, setting on the seventh, final lap, the fastest lap of the race, lapping at 2 minutes 18.516 seconds.

Supersport TT lap record holder Dunlop finished third but only just, finishing 0.013 of a second in front of KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan’s Coward.

Overall only 1.7 seconds separated top four finishers Todd, Harrison, Dunlop, Coward.

PreZ Racing’s Paul Jordan who made an impressive start took fifth whilst P6 was mopped up by Dafabet Racing’s Rob Hodson.

Port Erin’s Joe Yeardsley impressed in taking seventh ahead of Senior Race 1 podium finisher Nathan Harrison.

Wrapping up the first ten finishers from yet another S100 Supersport classic was Welshman Rhys Hardisty and 42 plate holder Richard Charlton.

Southern 100 – Radcliffe Butchers Supersport A race result:

1st – Davey Todd
2nd – Dean Harrison
3rd – Michael Dunlop
4th – Jamie Coward
5th – Paul Jordan
6th – Rob Hodson
7th – Joe Yeardsley
8th – Nathan Harrison
9th – Rhys Hardisty
10th – Richard Charlton

11th – Marcus Simpson
12th – Jamie Williams
13th – Stephen Tobin
14th – Russ Mountford
15th – Sam West
16th – Paul Cassidy
17th – Barry Furber
18th – Mark Parrett
19th – Sam Mousley
20th – Jack Fowler

21st – Lewis Arrowsmith
22nd – Daniel Forbes
23rd – Anthony O’Carroll
24th – Marc Colvin
25th – Dennis Booth
26th – Matt Mylchreest
27th – Mike Mace

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles