Southern 100: Billown Maestro Harrison Retains Solo Championship Crown

Southern 100: Billown Maestro Harrison Retains Solo Championship Crown

Becoming the first rider since Guy Martin in 2015 to retain the coveted Solo Championship crown, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison showcased again this afternoon his unquestioned mastery of the Colas Billown course, with another top quality, world class performance.

Sector by sector, lap on lap steadily moving clear of Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Ivan Lintin, the ever cheerful Bradford racer after nine consistent, rapid and accomplished racing laps held a race winning margin of closing in on the nine second mark.

Photo by Jim Gibson

Fellow Kawasaki mounted racer Lintin finishing for the third time this week runner up to his hugely respected rival, was happy enough at chalking up another big bike rostrum finish.

Wrapping up the podium finishers after a top draw battle for third with Michael Evans, James Cowton and Rob Hodson, was the undeniable standout newcomer of this years Southern 100, Cookstown BE Racing’s Davey Todd.

Second quickest newcomer in TT history Todd finished only 0.005 of a second, in front of McAdoo Kawasaki’s James Cowton who in turn was only 0.73 clear of Wilcock Consulting BMW mounted Evans.

Ryan Kneen was a more than creditable sixth, Adam McLean sealed a solid seventh place finish, PRL Worthington Racing’s Sam West banked eighth as Irish roads star Michael Sweeney and Mark Parrett rounded out the top ten finishers.

PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward lead the Supersport 600 challenge in 11th place, whilst others to seal very notable finishes included Brendan Fargher 13th, Barry Furber 16th and improving local racer Matt Mylchreest 18th.

Hunts Motorcycles Southern 100 Solo Championship result:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Ivan Lintin
3 Davey Todd
4 James Cowton
5 Michael Evans
6 Ryan Kneen
7 Adam McLean
8 Sam West
9 Michael Sweeney
10 Mark Parrett
11 Jamie Coward
12 Adrian Harrison
13 Brendan Fargher
14 Mark Goodings
15 Paul Williams
16 Barry Furber
17 Stephen McKnight
18 Matt Mylchreest
19 Alan Connor

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles