Scarborough Gold Cup/Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup Winners

Scarborough Gold Cup/Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup Winners

With just over a week till competitive action begins at the 68th Scarborough Gold Cup meeting, it’s a good time to look at the all time Gold Cup winners list, which reads like a who’s who of International road racing.

The most successful competitor to date in terms of Gold Cup triumph’s is fans favourite, TV star, multiple times world record holder Guy Martin.

Martin who has enjoyed prodigious Scarborough racing stints with teams such as Hydrex Honda, AIM Yamaha, Uel Duncan Racing, Team Racing and Tyco Suzuki, has secured in his illustrious career no less than eight Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup victories.

Others to have claimed two or more Gold Cup crowns are Chas Mortimer, John Cooper, Dean Ashton, David Jefferies, Barry Sheene, current Oliver’s Mount lap record holder Dean Harrison, Geoff Duke and Steve Henshaw.

Additional famous racers to have their names on the iconic Gold Cup trophy include John Surtees, 15 times World Champion Giacomo Agostini, Phil Read, Nick Jefferies.

Steve Parrish, Roger Marshall, Carl Fogarty, Michael Dunlop, the most winning rider in Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough history Ian Lougher, Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness.

The full list of Gold Cup winners, since the race’s initial formation in 1950, is as follows:

1950 Geoff Duke
1951 Jack Brett
1952 Bill Doran
1953 Geoff Duke
1954 Geoff Duke
1955 Geoff Duke
1956 Geoff Duke
1957 John Surtees
1958 George Catlin
1959 Bob Anderson
1960 John Hartle
1961 Dennis Pratt
1962 Pete Middleton
1963 Phil Read
1964 Derek Woodman
1965 John Cooper
1966 Dan Shorey
1967 John Cooper
1968 Billie Nelson
1969 Dave Degens
1970 Tony Jefferies
1971 John Cooper
1972 Giacomo Agostini
1973 Barry Sheene
1974 Barry Sheene
1975 Phil Read
1976 Chas Mortimer
1977 Chas Mortimer
1978 Will Hartog
1979 Barry Sheene
1980 Mick Grant
1981 Steve Parrish
1983 Keith Heuwen
1984 Barry Sheene
1985 Steve Henshaw
1986 Steve Henshaw
1987 Roger Marshall
1988 Jamie Whitham
1989 Carl Fogarty
1990 Nick Jefferies
1991 Mark Linscott
1992 David Jefferies
1993 Dean Ashton
1994 David Jefferies
1995 Dean Ashton
1996 Dean Ashton
1997 David Jefferies
1998 Jason Griffiths
1999 John McGuinness
2000 David Jefferies
2001 David Jefferies
2002 Ian Lougher
2003 Guy Martin
2004 Guy Martin
2005 Guy Martin
2006 Guy Martin
2007 Guy Martin
2008 Guy Martin
2009 Guy Martin
2010 Ian Hutchinson
2011 Ryan Farquhar
2012 Guy Martin
2013 Michael Dunlop
2014 Ivan Lintin
2015 Dean Harrison
2016 Dean Harrison

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles