Rutter Makes Up For Saturday’s Disappointment With Sure Junior Victory

Rutter Makes Up For Saturday’s Disappointment With Sure Junior Victory

Michael Rutter made up for the disappointment of disqualification from the Dunlop Lightweight race on Saturday, by securing Sure Junior victory following a highly accomplished world class display aboard the Ripley Land Racing Honda.

It’s the five times TT winner’s second Classic TT success, plus Ian Garbutt’s Ripley Land Racing outfit’s 2nd Junior 350 crown in three years.

Runner up, long time race leader Lee Johnston, finished just over seven seconds behind Eight times Macau GP champion Rutter, with ‘The General’ losing costly time in a pit stop at the end of lap 2, having at the time held a 25 second lead.

Still a terrific performance from the six times international road race winner, who went through the pain barrier, following his well documented Sidecar excursion at Jurby.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Bennetts Senior race runner up, Ted Woof Racing’s Jamie Coward, made it back to back podium finishes, whilst Dominic Herbertson lead the Davies Motorsport challenge in fourth in front of team mate, Alan Oversby who at Glen Helen on lap 1 was down in 33rd place!.

An under the weather Dean Harrison finished sixth, Chris Swallow was a very respectable seventh as eighth placed Phil McGurk wrapped up leading Privateer honours.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Finalising the top ten finishers was Hefyn Owen and Jason Markham, who both enjoyed productive races.

Added notable performances included Greenall Racing’s Steve Ferguson in 13th place, Dave Matravers 15th, Ewan Hamilton 17th.

Plus Lancelot Unissart 19th, Sam Johnson 23rd and seasoned Manx GP competitor Leon Murphy 27th.

Bernie Wright lead the small newcomers challenge in 30th, whilst fellow Mountain Course debutant David Glover, was the final of the forty finishers.

The attrition rate of the four lap race was pleasantly not as severe as anticipated, there was still though multiple retirements, the most high profile including Chris McGahan, Alan ‘Bud’ Jackson, Conor Cummins and Peter Boast.

Sure Junior Classic TT Race Results:

1 Michael Rutter
2 Lee Johnston
3 Jamie Coward
4 Dominic Herbertson
5 Alan Oversby
6 Dean Harrison
7 Chris Swallow
8 Phil McGurk
9 Hefyn Owen
10 Jason Markham
11 Dan Cooper
12 Cameron Donald
13 Steve Ferguson
14 Bob Owen
15 Dave Matravers
16 Nick Jefferies
17 Ewan Hamilton
18 Alec Whitwell
19 Lancelot Unissart
20 Dave Madsen Mygdal
21 Jaeson Caunce
22 Russell Roebury
23 Sam Johnson
24 Jeff Smith
25 Arthur Browning
26 Bob Millinship
27 Leon Murphy
28 Roy Phipps
29 Tony Tuttle
30 Bernie Wright
31 Rod Graham
32 Jamie O’Brien
33 Grant Sellars
34 Mark Woods
35 Andy Wilson
36 Bruno Leroy
37 Ian Thompson
38 Christopher Bray
39 David Burrell
40 David Glover

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles