Road Racing News

Road racings great races – Newcomers A Manx grand prix race 2009

The 2009 newcomers Manx grand prix started off in damp conditions making the race even more challenging for the newcomers to the Manx grand prix in 2009. From the start of the race it was Manxman Sean Murphy on the Martin Bullock racing Honda CBR 600 supersport bike who took the lead from Derek Shiels in second place whilst close behind in third place was Benny Smith who was then followed by David Mulligan in fourth place. By the end of lap 2 the order stayed the same at the front apart from Benny Smith retiring with technical problems this meant that David Mulligan was now into third place.

At the front Sean Murphy was consolidating his lead over Derek Shiels in second place who was riding impressively on a Triumph 675 supersport bike. On lap 3 positions stayed the same as Sean Murphy crossed the line to record a brilliant debut win on the mountain course. Derek Shiels took a fantastic second place finish in front of David Mulligan who took third place. Grant Wagstaff finished in 4th place whilst Paul Smyth, Michael Moulai, Caoith Lawless, Ciaran o’Callaghan, Jamie Adam and Michael Gillan completed the top 10. So overall an interesting newcomers A Manx grand prix race and one that showed the talents of many new road racing talents.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.