Road Racing’s Great Races – 2016 Bob Smith Spring Cup

Road Racing’s Great Races – 2016 Bob Smith Spring Cup

The 2016 Bob Smith Spring Cup will always be remembered as one of Dan Hegarty’s greatest roads performances.

At the time, my race report focusing upon him becoming one of a select group of riders to have recorded a major Oliver’s Mount title, read:

Piloting his own teams RTR Motorcycles Racing ZX10R Kawasaki, the TT privateers champion mastered tricky wet conditions around the mount, to secure a popular victory.

Stating that it’s a box ticked, Dan was absolutely delighted with his maiden success at Scarborough, which in my opinion will be the start of multiple victorious moments at the iconic road race circuit, for the rider who has moved up a level on the roads in 2016.

Daley Mathison highly touted for his wet weather prowess finished in second place, 3.972 seconds the race winner.

Oliver’s Mount specialist Mick Goodings, Motocraft Conversions CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade finalised the top three finishers.

Tom Weeden lead the supersport 600 challenge in fourth on his own teams 675 Daytona Triumph.

Whilst additional stand out performances included Stephen Degnan finishing a great fifth, Mark Goodings took his ZX10R Kawasaki mount to sixth as Darren Cooper finished a highly creditable seventh.

Scarborough’s James Tadman was eighth, Owen Graves impressed in finishing ninth as Paul Marley completed the top ten.

Craig Robertson recorded an eleventh place finish on his teams ZX7R 750 Kawasaki.

He was the last finisher in a quite attritional race, which saw pre race favourite Dean Harrison pull out due to tyre problems on the Silicone Engineering Racing ZX10R Kawasaki.

Jamie Coward, Devitt RC Express Racing ZX10R Kawasaki elected to not compete due to the conditions.

For Dan Hegarty Bob Smith Spring Cup success, is the latest momentous achievement in what is without a doubt his most successful roads campaign to date.

Dan dedicated his win today to the late but great Billy Redmayne, a great tribute to a one in a million individual.

Bob Smith Spring Cup Race Results:

1 Dan Hegarty
2 Daley Mathison
3 Mick Goodings
4 Tom Weeden
5 Stephen Degnan
6 Mark Goodings
7 Darren Cooper
8 James Tadman
9 Owen Graves
10 Paul Marley
11 Craig Robertson

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles