Road Racing News

Road Racing’s Great Races – 2011 Superstock TT

The 2011 superstock TT would prove to be a iconic race for many reasons. On opening lap of the race Michael Dunlop and Guy Martin battled it out for race lead as John McGuinness and Keith Amor where also in contention.

As the race went on Michael Dunlop established a comfortable advantage out front as lap four beckoned. On the final lap Michael competing on Street Sweep ZX10 Kawasaki did everything he had to go to clinch what was his first major international road race superstock victory.

Plus it was the hugely popular riders second victory on the mountain course and Kawasaki’s first solo TT win since 2005 when Ryan Farquhar won the second supersport race.

John McGuinness finished in second position 18.6 seconds behind Michael whilst Guy Martin on Relentless backed GSX-R 1000 TAS Suzuki completed the podium finishers. Keith Amor secured fourth place finish after a battling performance on his own teams CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade.

William Dunlop finished in fifth position which was at the time William’s personal best result on the mountain course. Wilson Craig racing team mate Cameron Donald secured sixth position after a solid and consistent performance from the 2008 superbike TT winner.

Dan Kneen secured seventh position on Marks Blooms racing ZX10 Kawasaki as Michael Rutter, Adrian Archibald and James Hillier finalised the top ten.

Finishing in 27th position was Dean Harrison competing on Printing roller services backed R1 Yamaha. At the time it was Dean’s first race finish at the worlds most famous road race. This year has seen Dean record his first TT win following lightweight TT victory but in 2011 no one could have predicted just how quickly the supremely talented rider would adapt to the mountain course.


Photo by Road Racing News

In all the 2011 superstock TT will be remembered by many as a race which saw Michael Dunlop secure his first international road race superstock victory which we now know has become the first of many, many and many more successes in a category that Michael has been victorious in three times at the Isle of Man TT.


Photo by Road Racing News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.