Pre TT Classic: Herbertson, Hose Amongst Saturday Evening Winners

Pre TT Classic: Herbertson, Hose Amongst Saturday Evening Winners

250/350 Singles:

Mike Hose made it 21 Pre-TT Classic wins in total but only after getting the better of race long rival, Will Loder.

Event wins record holder Hose aboard 350 Bultaco machinery, led Greeves Oulton pilot Loder by just over a second after opening lap proceedings.

By lap four top 15 Classic TT finisher Loder had gone P1, it wasn’t long though till Hose redressed the balance.

Closing race stages saw Hose aided by clever race craft, pull ahead of Loder, going onto finish 2.597 ahead at the race’s finalisation.

Third overall, 250 Singles spoils went to Barry Davidson, claiming would you believe it his first Pre-TT Classic victory!

Joining Davidson on the 250 Singles class rostrum were Monza Ducati runner Andy Hunt and 68 plate holder Geoff Bates whilst Aermacchi mounted Adrian Skaife completed the 350 Singles class podium.


The A D Hewitt Dental Practice 1000cc classics encounter, it’s fair to say took top the race of the evening award.

Lap records, left, right and centre, a race long joust between Dominic Herbertson and Adam McLean concluded with Super Twins TT No.1 plate carrier Herbertson taking his Pre-TT Classic wins total to six.

Seventh, final lap saw Yamaha powered Herbertson record a blistering new class lap record of 2:37.933 seconds, equating speed wise to 96.877 mph.

Second place finisher, Flitwick Motorcycles supported McLean also set his best lap time/lap speed on lap seven, 2:38.109 seconds, 96.769 mph.

Behind Herbertson, McLean, Andy Hornby captured third after overhauling during late race-stages 2019 & 2022 TT Privateers Champion Jamie Coward.

Junior Superbike:

Despite nursing issues afflicting his TZ250 Yamaha steed, two-stroke racing wizard Rhys Hardisty still proved uncatchable within the Geoff Duke Junior Superbike race.

Points finisher at the IRRC season opener at Hengelo, Hardisty’s final race winning margin following seven laps around the iconic Billown course, stood at close to 4.5 seconds with fellow Yamaha pilot Chris Moore giving the stiffest opposition.

Completing the top three finishers was Tom Snow whilst TT 2023 participant Gareth Arnold took a more than creditable fourth place finish.

Sidecars Race 1:

The attrition rate in the opening 3 Wheeling yesteryear Sidecars race, was exceptionally high!

Almost half of the fifteen race entrants did not finish including second qualifying pace setters, Kieran Clarke/Andrew Johnson and Wal Saunders/Bob Dowty.

Bob Dawson/Matthew Sims would emerge victorious, on route lapping close to sub 2:50 seconds.

Dawson/Sims finished nigh-on 19.1 seconds in front of impressive meeting debutants, Jack Gristwood/Alice Smith.

Winners of last year’s second Sidecars race stint, Danny Quirk/Dylan Weston had to settle this time for third.

Remaining race finishers were Keith Walters/Alun Thomas, Greg Lambert/Andrew Haynes, Alan Warner/Tom Dawkins, Tony Banister/Sarah Bannister and Christopher Wickett/Sylvia Hase.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles