Mid Antrim 150 – Qualifying Round Up

Mid Antrim 150 – Qualifying Round Up

Despite a mix of persistent downpours and strong winds, top class qualifying action was still seen today, at the Mid Antrim 150.


Setting the pace in superbike qualifying for the open and grand final races, was Derek Sheils. Piloting Cookstown Burrows Engineering Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki superbike, he lapped at exactly two minutes 10 seconds to finish quickest.

Ryan Farquhar marked his opening pure roads competition on BMW Motorrad machinery, with the second fastest time, lapping at 2 minutes 11.456 seconds, on IEG (International Energy Group) backed S1000RR BMW.

Finishing third in qualifying with lap time of 2 minutes 12.354 seconds was ultra impressive newcomer to Mid Antrim, Malachi Mitchell Thomas.

The current senior Manx Grand Prix winner has gelled quickly with the Cookstown BE Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki which he will pilot at TT 2016.

Fourth fastest Derek McGee showed good pace, on Noel Williamson Racing S1000RR BMW, whilst two time junior Manx Grand Prix winner Michael Sweeney and fellow ZX10R Kawasaki mounted competitor Seamus Elliott, completed the top six.

Top ten in qualifying was finalised by rising star Paul Jordan, Colin Stephenson, reigning Irish road race senior support champion Kevin Fitzpatrick and Logan Racing’s Neil Kernohan.

Superbike Qualifying Times:

1 Derek Sheils 2.10
2 Ryan Farquhar 2.11.456
3 Malachi Mitchell Thomas 2.12.354
4 Derek McGee 2.13.601
5 Michael Sweeney 2.15.323
6 Seamus Elliott 2.16.356
7 Paul Jordan 2.18.330
8 Colin Stephenson 2.19.858
9 Kevin Fitzpatrick 2.21.124
10 Neil Kernohan 2.21.735


Derek McGee was the dominant force in supersport qualifying today at Mid Antrim. Having his first roads outing on Noel Williamson Racing’s YZF R6 Yamaha he was the only rider to lap under 2 minutes 20 seconds, following lap time of 2 minutes 16.671 seconds.

Michael Sweeney made it a YZF R6 Yamaha one two in qualifying, as he lapped at 2 minutes 20.703 seconds.

Malachi Mitchell Thomas’s star continue’s to rise, as he finished a superb third quickest, lapping at 2 minutes 21.027 seconds on Cookstown BE Racing’s CBR 600 Honda.


Colin Stephenson enjoyed a great start to his 2016 roads campaign, finishing fourth fastest on his own teams YZF R6 Yamaha.

The top six in qualifying was concluded by reigning Irish road race 125 champion Paul Jordan and 2012 junior Manx Grand Prix winner, Wayne Kirwan.

Darryl Tweed finished an impressive seventh quickest, Neil Kernohan tipped for top class results a plenty in 2016 was eighth fastest as Stephen Tobin and Rob Barber completed the top ten fastest qualifiers.

Supersport Qualifying Times:

1 Derek McGee 2.16.671
2 Michael Sweeney 2.20.703
3 Malachi Mitchell Thomas 2.21.027
4 Colin Stephenson 2.23.388
5 Paul Jordan 2.23.457
6 Wayne Kirwan 2.23.622
7 Darryl Tweed 2.25.676
8 Neil Kernohan 2.26.731
9 Stephen Tobin 2.28.168
10 Rob Barber 2.28.387

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *