Manx GP: Classic Senior Seeds Issued

Manx GP: Classic Senior Seeds Issued

The days are ticking down towards the 100th Anniversary Manx Grand Prix and more enterprising pre-event news, has broke cover this evening with the seeded starters for the four-lap Carole Nash Classic Senior race disclosed.

No.1 plate holder is 2018 Junior Classic TT Champion, Davies Motorsport’s Dominic Herbertson.

With no racer holding the two-plate, next up on the entry is none other than 23 times TT winner John McGuinness MBE.

Three times Senior Classic TT victor, the Morecambe road-race legend is astride again the formidable Team Winfield Paton.

Fitness permitting after injuries sustained in a cycling incident, triple TT Privateers Champion Jamie Coward (Craven Classic Racing) will be next to descend down Bray Hill.

The respective five, seven, eight plate holders are 2013 Lightweight TT winner James Hillier (CSC Racing/IMS), single cylinder Norton mounted, Irish Road Race Supersport Champion Michael Browne (Peter Grantham Lodge) and yesteryear racing specialist Alan Oversby.

Ninth away down Glencrutchery road is ‘130 Mph Club’ member, Ruthless Racing’s Rob Hodson with Michael Rutter (Davies Motorsport) rounding out the first ten starters.

Sixth in the second Monster Energy Supersport race of TT 2023, twice MGP winner Jim Hind (BTS/NL Components) carries the 12-plate.

Recently back in the saddle at the GO Classic Bike Festival, 13-plate holder Michael Sweeney looks set to make a popular return to road race action, aboard CSC Racing supported Yamaha machinery.

2019 Superbike Classic TT runner-up Derek Sheils (Greenall Racing) goes at 14 whilst start numbers 15 and 16 have been assigned to Super Twins TT Race 2 runner-up Pierre Yves Bian (VAS Racing) and Izzard Racing Norton pilot Michael Russell.

Wrapping up the scheduled 1-20 starters are Hefyn Owen (No.17 – Owen Racing), Banbridge’ Shaun Anderson aboard Peter Beugger’s 500 Paton (No.18) and DKW exponent, Wiz Norton Racing’s Gary Vines (No.19).

2023 Manx Grand Prix – Carole Nash Senior Classic, first twenty starters re-cap:

1 – Dominic Herbertson
3 – John McGuinness MBE
4 – Jamie Coward
5 – James Hillier
7 – Michael Browne
8 – Alan Oversby
9 – Rob Hodson
10 – Michael Rutter

12 – Jim Hind
13 – Michael Sweeney
14 – Derek Sheils
15 – Pierre Yves Bian
16 – Michael Russell
17 – Hefyn Owen
18 – Shaun Anderson
19 – Gary Vines

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles