Sure Lightweight MGP Field Takes Shape, Herbertson First Away

Sure Lightweight MGP Field Takes Shape, Herbertson First Away

Just as in 2022, the racer set to have the honour of leading away this month’s, new-look Sure Lightweight Manx Grand Prix, is Chasin the Racin’s Dominic Herbertson.

Although still to disclose event machinery, you’d be brave to discount the paddock favourite, ‘130 Mph Club’ member from contending for a premium finish.

Next up on the entry list, starting ten seconds behind Herbertson is ten times TT winner, Laylaw Racing’s Ian Lougher.

Lougher’s team-mate, last year’s class victor Michael Browne holds the three-plate.

Agonisingly close 12 months ago to class victory, five plate carrier, rising talent Jim Hind will be hoping luck is on his side as he bids to take his TZ 250 Yamaha mount, to the MGP winners’ circle.

Next racer scheduled to blast down Bray Hill is none other than, 25 times TT winner Michael Dunlop astride his own squads RS 250 Honda.

Mountain Course returnee Adam McLean (Laylaw Racing) holds the seven-plate whilst start numbers eight, nine and then have been assigned to Dan Sayle (Baz Gas), Rhys Hardisty (Willson & Wilding/Kaymac) and Super Twins TT podium finisher, Pierre Yves Bian.

Respective eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen plate holders Stuart Hall (Whippet Racing), Michal ‘Indi’ Dokoupil (Cookson Racing), Chris Moore (Outhwaite Plant/Silverstar iHeat), all have the talents to score notable results.

Wrapping up the first twenty starters for the opening race of the 100th Anniversary Manx GP are Ulster GP Super Twins victor, 450 Yamaha powered Paul Jordan (Faraldo Racing), Jenar Racing’s Gareth Arnold.

690 Kramer mounted ‘130 Mph Club’ member Shaun Anderson (ARD) and PVS Van and Car Sales backed Adrian Morris.

Sure Lightweight Classic Manx Grand Prix – start numbers re-cap:

1 – Dominic Herbertson
2 – Ian Lougher
3 – Michael Browne
5 – Jim Hind
6 – Michael Dunlop
7 – Adam McLean
8 – Dan Sayle
9 – Rhys Hardisty
10 – Pierre Yves Bian

12 – Stuart Hall
13 – Michal Dokoupil
14 – Chris Moore
15 – Paul Jordan
17 – Gareth Arnold
18 – Shaun Anderson
19 – Adrian Morris

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles