Manx GP 2022: Hodson Leads Greenall 1-2 In Classic Superbike Race

Manx GP 2022: Hodson Leads Greenall 1-2 In Classic Superbike Race
Just as the sun descended upon Glencrutchery Road, the eagerly anticipated RST Classic Superbike Manx Grand Prix got underway at 3:30 PM.

A scintillating opening lap saw just over six seconds cover first to fourth.

Fastest to Glen Helen, Immingham’s Craig Neve held first at lap one’s conclusion, leading Greenall Racing’s Rob Hodson by only 1.2 seconds.

Before problems arose, Michael Dunlop racing XR69 tackle instead of the SRAD GSX-R 750 steed for Team Classic Suzuki, held third 0.589 behind Hodson.

From lap two on-wards the battle for class spoils became firmly between Neve and Hodson.

By the Bungalow, nine plate holder Hodson was into first, heading Alasdair Cowan Racing’s Neve by 0.795 of a second.

At lap two’s finalisation, just 2.567 seconds separated Hodson and Neve.

Nathan Harrison slotted into third with reigning class Champion David Johnson holding fourth.

21 times TT winner Dunlop retired at the pits whilst Brian McCormack’s challenge concluded at Ballacraine.

Post pit-stops, under 0.7 of a second covered Hodson, Neve at Glen Helen and Ballaugh Bridge.

By Cronk Ny Mona, Greenall Racing’s Hodson upped the race-lead to just over four seconds.

Going onto the fourth, final lap, Hodson’s lead extended slightly to 4.5 seconds.

Drama then arose early on lap four as Neve’s bid for victory concluded at Greeba Bridge. This enabled Hodson to gain a firm grip on race proceedings, team-mate Johnson to jump up to second.

Hodson went onto clinch a second Manx Grand Prix victory, his first in the yesteryear Superbike class.

The fight for second finalised with Harrison bagging second, making it a Greenall Racing 1-2, after a strong final lap, setting the quickest lap of the race, lapping at 126.326 mph.

Aussie ace Johnson, competing in his first Mountain Course affiliated race since 2019, finished third, 0.617 behind Harrison.

Herheim Racing’s Ryan Kneen took fourth, seven times TT victor Michael Rutter took fifth, Irish Road Race Superbike Champion Michael Sweeney occupied sixth.

Concluding the top ten finishers were sole RC45 Honda runner Lee Johnston, Michal ‘Indi’ Dokoupil, Barry Furber who slid off during the morning warm-up session and Wilcock Consulting backed Shaun Anderson.

Superbike Classic Manx Grand Prix Result:

1st – Rob Hodson

2nd – Nathan Harrison

3rd – David Johnson

4th – Ryan Kneen

5th – Michael Rutter

6th – Michael Sweeney

7th – Lee Johnston

8th – Michal Dokoupil

9th – Barry Furber

10th – Shaun Anderson

11th – Richard Wilson

12th – Paul Williams

13th – Michael Evans

14th – Jamie Cringle

15th – Anthony Redmond

16th – Lancelot Unissart

17th – Dave Hewson

18th – Pete Murray

19th – Mike Mace

20th – Mark Herbertson

21st – Andrea Majola

22nd – Marc Colvin

23rd – Dave Madsen Mygdal

Photo credit: Mark Corlett, Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles