IRRC Terlicko – Superbike : Grams Takes Hard Fought Pole Position

IRRC Terlicko – Superbike : Grams Takes Hard Fought Pole Position

At the conclusion of a day of truly world class closed roads competition at Terlicko, the battle for supremacy in the battle for pole position for tomorrow’s IRRC Superbike races, was lead by German roads legend Didier Grams.

G&G Motorsport’s Grams within the second qualifying session lap time of 2 minutes 14.151 seconds, proved just enough to take a hard fought pole position, as under 0.7 of a second covered the top three in qualifying.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Leading the challenge to four times big bike IRRC champion Grams were Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo (2.14.470) and championship leader, Terlicko newcomer Danny Webb (2.14.826).

Meeting wildcard Petr Biciste (2.17.280) was next up on the time sheets, whilst Switzerland’s Lukas Maurer (2.17.508) impressed in finishing an excellent fifth fastest.

Placing’s sixth and seventh on the overall qualifying time sheets were claimed by the closely matched, Penz 13 BMW duo of Marek Cerveny (2.18.280) and recent eighth place finisher in the Pokerstars Senior TT Jamie Coward (2.18.379).

Taking places eighth, ninth and tenth in qualifying were respectively Tomas Borovka (2.18.602), Ales Nechvatal (2.18.739) and David Datzer (2.19.160).

In total 29 riders are set to compete in tomorrow’s IRRC Superbike encounters, which given the evenly matched pace of the likes of Grams, Kostamo and Webb from qualifying today, are certain to provide first rate competition on the ever popular Terlicko course.

IRRC Superbike qualifying results, are as follows:

1 Didier Grams 2.14.151
2 Erno Kostamo 2.14.470
3 Danny Webb 2.14.826
4 Petr Biciste 2.17.280
5 Lukas Maurer 2.17.508
6 Marek Cerveny 2.18.280
7 Jamie Coward 2.18.379
8 Tomas Borovka 2.18.602
9 Ales Nechvatal 2.18.739
10 David Datzer 2.19.160
11 Josef Jezovica 2.19.812
12 Nico Muller 2.21.350
13 Pavel Tomecek 2.21.763
14 Jonathan Goetschy 2.21.955
15 Timo Schonhals 2.23.991
16 Martin Suchacek 2.24.481
17 Eddy Maniguet 2.25.078
18 Vassilios Takos 2.25.142
19 Fabrice Miguet 2.25.356
20 Hanno Brandenburger 2.25.941
21 Yannik Jacops 2.26.336
22 Yann Galli 2.26.582
23 Jurgen Welsing 2.27.082
24 Robert Heitzinger 2.27.503
25 Kurt Haek 2.29.591
26 Rob Van Eijs 2.29.951
27 Paul Manx 2.30.146
28 Ryan Trocherie 2.32.721
29 Foti Psomadakis 2.36.866

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles