IRRC Schleiz: Van Calster, McLean Top Captivating Supersport Contest

IRRC Schleiz: Van Calster, McLean Top Captivating Supersport Contest

Despite just missing out on a maiden IRRC victory, Adam McLean on route to second in today’s opening middleweight class race contest, more than proved his credentials this morning in Germany (Schleizer Dreieck), setting a new Supersport event lap record of 1 minute 29.363 seconds.

Pole-sitter McLean led the first four laps of the 12-lap encounter, before four times IRRC Champion Marek Cerveny took the race lead.

On lap six, B.ART Racing Team’s Jef Van Calster, under the previous existing lap record on lap two, passed Cerveny to attain P1.

Pulling slightly clear across lap seven, Performance Racing Achterhoek’s McLean back into second post lap eight’s conclusion, threw the gauntlet down in pursuit of BeNeLux Trophy Supersport winner times two, last weekend at Spa, Van Calster.

With two laps to go, 0.352 separated Van Calster and 2022 Steve Henshaw Gold Cup victor McLean.

In the end, Northwest 200 podium finisher McLean despite valiant determination, finished second behind Van Calster, who’s race winning margin was close to 0.7 of a second.

Third place finisher Cerveny, took 20 Championship points (event wildcard Van Calster ineligible for points).

Philipp Stich, Finn Chapman obtained fourth, fifth with the Team Schleizer Dreieck duo of Sebastian Frotscher and Gary Johnson, sweeping up sixth, seventh.

Rico Vetter, Ilja Caljouw, Darryl Tweed took eighth to tenth place finishes, positions eleventh to fifteenth were banked by Mauro Poncini, Jamie Williams, Rhys Hardisty, Matthieu Pauchard and Peter Lionel.

IRRC Schleiz: Supersport Race 1 Result:

1st – Jef Van Calster
2nd – Adam McLean
3rd – Marek Cerveny
4th – Philipp Stich
5th – Finn Chapman
6th – Sebastian Frotscher
7th – Gary Johnson
8th – Rico Vetter
9th – Ilja Caljouw
10th – Darryl Tweed

11th – Mauro Poncini
12th – Jamie Williams
13th – Rhys Hardisty
14th – Matthieu Pauchard
15th – Peter Lionel
16th – Karel Brandtner
17th – Olli Konttinen
18th – Wesley Ankersmid
19th – Nicolas Therouin
20th – Mike Mace

21st – Ben Kugler
22nd – Roman Bocek
23rd – Brian Fuidge

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles