Road Racing News

IRRC Hengelo: Series Newcomer Todd Dominates First Superbike Encounter

Perhaps surprising some who haven’t witnessed up close his proven, high calibre real road racing ability, Wepol Road Racing’s Davey Todd was in a league of his own in today’s opening IRRC Superbike encounter at Hengelo.

Never headed in the nine lap race, IRRC series newcomer Todd aboard his distinctive white, pink and blue liveried S1000RR BMW, was peerless throughout, ultimately claiming race spoils by over the 7.5 second mark.

Photo by Damon Teerink

Wepol Road Racing team mate Marek Cerveny, lead the challenge to the on top form Todd, as XLMOTO backed Erno Kostamo rounded out the rostrum finishers.

Pole sitter, German roads legend Didier Grams was a solid fourth, whilst Varsselring, IRRC debutant Daley Mathison impressed on route to securing a more than creditable fifth place finish.

Under one tenth of a second covered the sixth, seventh place finishers, Thomas Berghammer and event wildcard David Datzer, whilst placing 8th on the results sheet was leading local competitor Thijs Peeters.

Finalising the first ten finishers were 2012 Newcomers A Manx GP winner Kamil Holan, and MCW Racing’s Roger Bantli.

Outside of the top ten finishers, others to quietly impress included Tomas Borovka 11th, Mathias Gnagi 14th, Marcel Esner 15th and Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Frank Gallagher 16th.

IRRC Hengelo – Superbike Race 1 Results in full, are as follows:

1 Davey Todd
2 Marek Cerveny
3 Erno Kostamo
4 Didier Grams
5 Daley Mathison
6 Thomas Berghammer
7 David Datzer
8 Thijs Peeters
9 Kamil Holan
10 Roger Bantli
11 Tomas Borovka
12 Virgil Amber Bloemhard
13 Pavel Tomecek
14 Mathias Gnagi
15 Marcel Esner
16 Frank Gallagher
17 Joefrey Bonafede
18 Andreas Gangl
19 Thilo Gunther
20 Yannik Jacops
21 Hanno Brandenburger
22 ? Lupberger
23 Foti Psomadakis
24 Morgan Baplu
25 Kurt Haek

Words by Stevie Rial