IRRC Frohburg: Masterful Lagrive Dominates Supersport Qualifying, Finishes Quickest By 1.75 Seconds

IRRC Frohburg: Masterful Lagrive Dominates Supersport Qualifying, Finishes Quickest By 1.75 Seconds

Matthieu Lagrive’s relentless charge towards a second successive IRRC Supersport title, gathered further pace this afternoon as the affable Frenchman secured in dominant fashion pole position for Sunday’s ten lap middleweight class encounters.

Lagrive in action aboard the Wepol Road Racing YZF R6 Yamaha, that has served him exceptionally well throughout this season, fastest lap time of 1 minute 38.032 seconds, gave him an advantage at the top of the timing screens of 1.75 seconds over lead Championship challenger Laurent Hoffmann (1.39.782).

Photo by Andy Quinn

Behind anticipated event front runners Lagrive and Hoffmann, third place on the combined Supersport qualifying times sheet went to ultra-impressive Frohburg, pure road racing newcomer Sheridan Morais (1.40.749).

A further Moto 2, World Superbike, World Supersport Championship exponent, South Africa’s Morais showcased today all of his core racing speed in quickly adapting to the illustrious Frohburger Dreieck course.

LSE Racing’s Christian Schmitz (1.40.958), who finished second quickest within Q1 (First Qualifying), placed overall fourth fastest.

Whilst others to show a strong turn of form, pace included the Dutch duo of Jorn Hamberg (1.41.198) and Performance Racing’s Achterhoek (1.41.385).

Plus respective seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth quickest qualifiers Rico Vetter (1.41.831), former Newcomers A Manx GP runner-up Julian Trummer (1.42.001), Team Schleizer Dreieck’s Max Gaube (1.42.217) and fellow rising German roads star David Datzer (1.42.361).

IRRC Frohburg – Supersport combined qualifying result, is as follows:

1 Matthieu Lagrive 1.38.032
2 Laurent Hoffmann 1.39.782
3 Sheridan Morais 1.40.749
4 Christian Schmitz 1.40.958
5 Jorn Hamberg 1.41.198
6 Ilja Caljouw 1.41.385
7 Rico Vetter 1.41.831
8 Julian Trummer 1.42.001
9 Max Gaube 1.42.217
10 David Datzer 1.42.361
11 Francesco Curinga 1.42.513
12 Tomas Toth 1.42.793
13 Sebastian Frotscher 1.43.061
14 Anssi Koski 1.43.325
15 Xavier Denis 1.43.479
16 Henrik Voit 1.43.946
17 Martin Riedl 1.43.996
18 Kamil Holan 1.44.221
19 Petr Wiesenberg 1.44.352
20 Kai Zentner 1.44.916
21 Mauro Poncini 1.45.126
22 Robert Rohde 1.46.650
23 Christian Steinhauser 1.47.252
24 Thomas Jennings 1.47.750
25 Luca Zanutto 1.47.838
26 Sascha Prahl 1.48.656
27 Stefan Wauter 1.48.721
28 Maxime Gresoviac 1.49.316
29 Yann Galli 1.49.513
30 Daniel Wiesinger 1.49.919
31 Leonard Mesojedec 1.50.148

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles