IRRC Frohburg: Dramatic SBK Race 1 Victory For Datzer

IRRC Frohburg: Dramatic SBK Race 1 Victory For Datzer

The IRRC Superbike race one opener at Frohburg, held in excellent conditions all-round, wasn’t short of excitement, drama a plenty.

Five times IRRC Superbike Champion Didier Grams, steadfastly led throughout, showcasing metronomic pace aboard the G&G Motorsport S1000RR BMW.

At mid distance, Grams held a race lead almost topping 3.8 seconds.

Down to sixth post lap one’s completion, MTP Racing’s David Datzer by lap six had charged up to second.

Laps seven, eight saw Datzer continue to find the groove, twice lapping below 1 minute 40 seconds (1.33.753), (1.33.636).

Incredibly by the ninth and penultimate lap, the reigning Macau Grand Prix runner-up was rapidly reeling in the prior showcased Grams.

Fortunes got even better on the tenth and final lap for M1000RR BMW pilot Datzer, who overhauled Grams for a famous victory. His final race winning margin stood at almost one second.

Outside of the duel for race spoils between Datzer and Grams, Erno Kostamo got the better of previous second place occupier Jorn Hamberg for a place on the podium.

Hamberg, winner of the prior Supersport race took fourth ahead of Patrick Hoff and this year’s IRRC Superbike Champion Lukas Maurer.

Markus Karlsson captured seventh, Johannes Schwimmbeck pocketed eighth, Laurent Hoffmann obtained ninth with Nico Muller wrapping up the leader-board top ten.

IRRC Frohburg – Superbike Race 1 Result:

1st – David Datzer
2nd – Didier Grams
3rd – Erno Kostamo
4th – Jorn Hamberg
5th – Patrick Hoff
6th – Lukas Maurer
7th – Markus Karlsson
8th – Johannes Schwimmbeck
9th – Laurent Hoffmann
10th – Nico Muller

11th – Luca Gottardi
12th – Tomas Toth
13th – Udo Reichmann
14th – Freddie Heinrich
15th – Marnix D’Hondt
16th – Roger Bantli
17th – Forest Dunn
18th – Christoph Kreller
19th – Rene Grundei
20th – Guido Nittke

21st – Wally Jacobs
22nd – Rhys Hardisty
23rd – Florian Astner
24th – Steven Bellavoine
25th – Olivier Lupberger
26th – Pontus Roestlinger
27th – Paul Manx
28th – Emil Krchnavy
29th – Mike Ceuppens
30th – Morgan Baplu
31st – Rene Mikvy

Photo credit: Madli Hanson

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles