IRRC Chimay: Championship Leader Lagrive Wins Tight Supersport Qualifying Battle

IRRC Chimay: Championship Leader Lagrive Wins Tight Supersport Qualifying Battle

IRRC Supersport championship leader Matthieu Lagrive came out on top in a tight battle, for Supersport pole at Chimay, with just 0.063 of a second covering him and fellow Frenchman Pierre Yves Bian.

Wepol Racing’s Lagrive a newcomer to Chimay, as at Imatranajo has taken quickly to another of mainland Europe’s illustrious roads courses.

Lagrive’s lap time of 1 minute 42.740 seconds set during this morning’s opening qualifying session, proved just enough to hold at bay Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Yves Bian (1.42.803), to clinch a third successive IRRC Supersport class pole position.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Behind Lagrive, Yves Bian, local hero Laurent Hoffmann (1.43.138) wasn’t far behind in finishing third quickest, just in front of fellow Belgian, event wildcard, Come Geenen (1.43.308).

The ever improving Lukas Maurer (1.44.542) was fifth fastest, Thomas Walther (1.45.114), Jonathan Goetschy (1.45.304) were evenly matched in banking sixth, seventh on the time sheets, whilst John Pilloud (1.45.975) it’s fair to say surprised a fare few by finishing eighth quickest.

Rounding out the ten fastest racers from today’s qualifying sessions, held in dry, virtually ideal conditions, were new Performance Racing Achterhoek team mates Ilja Caljouw (1.46.006) and Christian Schmitz (1.46.140).

Full combined qualifying results, are as follows:

1 Matthieu Lagrive 1.42.740
2 Pierre Yves Bian 1.42.803
3 Laurent Hoffmann 1.43.138
4 Come Geenen 1.43.308
5 Lukas Maurer 1.44.542
6 Thomas Walther 1.45.114
7 Jonathan Goetschy 1.45.304
8 John Pilloud 1.45.975
9 Ilja Caljouw 1.46.006
10 Christian Schmitz 1.46.140
11 Anssi Koski 1.46.665
12 Sebastian Frotscher 1.46.899
13 Martin Riedl 1.46.985
14 Gregory Dewilde 1.47.292
15 John Ross Billega 1.47.429
16 Frederic Besnard 1.47.437
17 Miroslav Sloboda 1.47.781
18 Boris Liegeois 1.47.858
19 Kai Zentner 1.48.175
20 Dave Butler 1.48.611
21 Quentin Limousin 1.50.034
22 Alexandre Bigot 1.50.139
23 Mike Ceuppens 1.50.321
24 Nicolas Robert 1.50.515
25 Wayne Bourgeais 1.50.999
26 Andrea Majola 1.52.026
27 Erwan Bannwart 1.53.629
28 Yann Micheli 1.54.799
29 Jimmy Wauters 1.55.646
30 Cedric Guerlot 1.58.028

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles