IRRC Chimay: 50 Plus Points Series Lead For Webb Following Classic Superbike Battle

IRRC Chimay: 50 Plus Points Series Lead For Webb Following Classic Superbike Battle

In top draw conditions, mixed with warm, sunny weather and the picturesque nature of Circuit De Chimay, you could sense an exciting, enthralling, captivating opening IRRC Superbike race would be in prospect.

Former series champion Vincent Lonbois making a one off return to IRRC competition, championship leader Wepol Racing by Penz’s Danny Webb provided the large crowd at Chimay with a truly classic duel for big bike honours.

There was nothing in it throughout between the YZF R1M Yamaha, S1000RR BMW mounted racers, with both setting a relentless, rapid pace.

The tenth and final lap of one of arguably the best IRRC Superbike encounters of modern times, provided sporting drama of the highest quality.

As both ventured towards the chequered flag, it was still all to play for, the question was who would hold their nerve to scoop race honours.

Ultimately Chimay specialist Lonbois emerged on top by just 0.064 of a second, as second placed Webb took his championship lead to in excess of 50 points.

Outside of the thrilling battle out front, Didier Grams after ten consistent, solid laps of Chimay finished third.

Marek Cerveny, Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo still mathematically in contention for series honours chalked up fourth, fifth place finishes.

Whilst Jonathan Goetschy, BeNecup Superbike rostrum finisher David Datzer quietly impressed in banking sixth, seventh place finishes.

Finalising the top ten finishers were Christophe Guerouah, and the Czech Republic duo of Ales Nechvatal and Tomas Borovka.

IRRC Chimay – Superbike Race 1 results, are as follows:

1 Vincent Lonbois
2 Danny Webb
3 Didier Grams
4 Marek Cerveny
5 Erno Kostamo
6 Jonathan Goetschy
7 David Datzer
8 Christophe Guerouah
9 Ales Nechvatal
10 Tomas Borovka
11 Nico Muller
12 Timo Schonhals
13 Joefrey Bonafede
14 Nadieh Schoots
15 Regis Zanella
16 Benjamin Villar
17 Vassilios Takos
18 Jean Pierre Polet
19 Eddy Maniguet
20 Paul Manx
21 Yannick Jacops
22 Ryan Trocherie
23 Rob Van Eijs
24 Morgan Baplu
25 Fabrice Miguet
26 Kurt Haek
27 Ricky Wagner
28 Foti Psomadakis

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles