Imatranajo: Dan Kneen Wins Pulsating Open Superbike Encounter

Imatranajo: Dan Kneen Wins Pulsating Open Superbike Encounter

Dan Kneen won a pulsating Open Superbike encounter at Imatra, to secure not only his first roads success of 2017, but also his first in Penz 13 BMW colours.

Edging out team mate and IRRC Superbike race 1 winner Michael Rutter by just 0.016 of a second, there was nothing in it throughout, as under 0.9 covered the top five finishers.

Photo by Jarmo Heikkeri

Speaking about his maiden Imatranajo victory, on his debut at the famous Finnish meeting, the Manxman stated via his Twitter page:

“Well that was tight racing, passed 5 in 3 laps to win Imatranajo main open race!”

Penz 13 BMW as on Saturday evening, locked out the podium, with Alex Polita sealing a second successive third place finish.

Pauli Pekkanen was fourth in front of IRRC great Sebastien Le Grelle, whilst Erno Kostamo in sixth, continues to impress at Imatranajo.

Concluding the top ten within the gripping six lap race, was Marek Cerveny, Toni Torpakko, Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Joey Den Besten and Petr Biciste.

Imatranajo – Open Superbike Race Results:

Dan Kneen
2 Michael Rutter
3 Alex Polita
4 Pauli Pekkanen
5 Sebastien Le Grelle
6 Erno Kostamo
7 Marek Cerveny
8 Toni Torpakko
9 Joey Den Besten
10 Petr Biciste
11 Jan Kopponen
12 Nadieh Schoots
13 Ludovic Paureau
14 Lasse Karki
15 Vladimir Strelnik
16 Mikhail Schumilin
17 Sami Nurmi
18 Hanno Brandenburger
19 David Datzer
20 Marko Ratto
21 Dirk Kaletsch
22 Jean Pierre Polet
23 Magnus Collin
24 Wolfgang Brunner
25 Fredrik Enlund
26 Johan Fredriks

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles