Road Racing News

Group Of Leading International Road Racers Nominated For Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist Of The Year Accolade

A selection of the world’s best road racers, have been nominated alongside the likes of World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea, British Supersport champion Jack Kennedy and National Superstock champion Keith Farmer to be in contention to become 2018 Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist of the Year.

Feature Superbike North West 200 victor Glenn Irwin, fellow Triangle course maestro Alastair Seeley and 18 times TT winner Michael Dunlop are all nominated for the prestigious award.

Photo by Rod Neill

The sole remaining closed roads exponent within the 10 rider short list is Bennetts Lightweight TT runner up, Irish Road Race Super Twins, Supersport, Superbike champion Derek McGee.

Alongside the feature award, there is also the IFS Road Racer of the year title up for grabs, a crown in the past ten years won by a who’s who of road racing.

The 2019 Cornmarket Motorcycle Awards ceremony which takes place next year on the 18th of January, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Belfast, also provides a chance for roads teams to claim the JWA Team of the Year title, which was won last year by the vastly successful Tyco BMW outfit.

Words by Stevie Rial