FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Hickman Sets New Unofficial UGP Lap Record, Seals In Style Superbike Pole

FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Hickman Sets New Unofficial UGP Lap Record, Seals In Style Superbike Pole

As during this morning’s Superstock qualifying session, Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman was quickly into the groove in the corresponding second Superbike qualifying session.

Hickman’s opening flying lap of in excess of the 132 mph lap mark, gave him an early session advantage of just over 2.4 seconds over Milenco by Padgetts Conor Cummins.

Hickman upped the pace further on his second flying lap, lapping at 3 minutes 18.734 seconds, under 0.2 of a second outside the existing Superbike qualifying lap record.

Behind the BSB showdown contender, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison who had a pretty low key first qualifying session, was back in tip top form lapping at 3 minutes 20.739 seconds.

Harrison though despite his improved form was still over two seconds down on the pace shown by Hickman, who soon set a new Superbike qualifying lap record of 3 minutes 18.202 seconds.

This was then incredibly bettered further on his fifth timed lap, registering another new qualifying lap record of 3 minutes 18.074 seconds.

If you thought all the above scintillating lap times, feats, broken records were finished for this afternoon, you’d have been wrong, very wrong.

Photo by Rod Neill

Remarkably Hickman went quicker again on his seventh timed lap, this time lapping at 3 minutes 17.408 seconds (speed wise 134.969 mph), which not only beats his previous Superbike qualifying record, it’s also unofficially a new outright Ulster GP lap record!

Come the completion of the session, Hickman’s advantage over lead pursuer Harrison (3.19.899) stood at just past the 2.49 seconds mark.

Manx star Cummins (3.21.878) finished third quickest, whilst Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston (3.22.009) it’s fair to say surprised some by finishing fourth fastest only 0.131 behind established International Roads Superbike front runner Cummins.

BE Racing In Conjunction With Richardson Kelly Racing’s Derek Sheils (3.23.972) qualified fifth fastest whilst placing’s sixth, seventh and eighth on the combined qualifying times sheet were acquired respectively by Honda Racing’s David Johnson (3.24.153), Market Rasen’s Phil Crowe (3.25.859) and PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward (3.26.211).

Michael Dunlop (3.26.233) as at Armoy going through the pain barrier, finished ninth quickest as Brian McCormack (3.27.341) concluded the ten fastest overall qualifiers.

FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Combined Superbike qualifying result, is as follows:

1 Peter Hickman 3.17.408
2 Dean Harrison 3.19.899
3 Conor Cummins 3.21.878
4 Lee Johnston 3.22.009
5 Derek Sheils 3.23.972
6 David Johnson 3.24.153
7 Phil Crowe 3.25.859
8 Jamie Coward 3.26.211
9 Michael Dunlop 3.26.233
10 Brian McCormack 3.27.341
11 Sam West 3.27.501
12 Shaun Anderson 3.28.291
13 Davey Todd 3.28.631
14 Dominic Herbertson 3.29.031
15 David Jackson 3.29.606
16 Michael Sweeney 3.29.796
17 Paul Jordan 3.30.108
18 Ryan Kneen 3.30.657
19 Michael Booth 3.31.182
20 Josh Daley 3.31.884
21 Xavier Denis 3.31.993
22 Forest Dunn 3.33.415
23 Tom Weeden 3.35.063
24 Gareth Keys 3.35.106
25 Darren Cooper 3.35.165
26 Davy Morgan 3.35.497
27 Mark Parrett 3.36.897
28 Kris Duncan 3.36.905
29 Laurent Hoffmann 3.37.224
30 David McConnachy 3.37.761
31 Barry Furber 3.38.451
32 James Chawke 3.38.676
33 Kamil Holan 3.40.398
34 Richard Charlton 3.40.825
35 George Spence 3.41.360
36 Raul Torras Martinez 3.41.942
37 Stephen McKnight 3.42.037
38 Paul Gartland 3.43.157
39 Marty Lennon 3.44.509
40 Neil Kernohan 3.44.569
41 Paul Cranston 3.44.651
42 Donald MacFadyen 3.44.776
43 Patricia Fernandez 3.46.452
44 Alan Connor 3.47.314

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles