Faugheen 50: Sheils Wins Open Championship Race Thriller

Faugheen 50: Sheils Wins Open Championship Race Thriller

BE Racing In Conjunction with Richardson Kelly Racing’s Derek Sheils, took this morning his tally of Irish Road Race victories from 2019 to nine, after winning a thrilling Open Championship race at Faugheen.

The six lap encounter saw Sheils locked in a high quality battle for class honours, with race pole sitter Derek McGee and Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney.

Mullingar’s McGee held the race advantage for the first five laps, prior to Sheils finding that something extra to emerge victorious at the end of the sixth and final lap, by only 0.051 of a second.

Photo by Tommy Vennard

Third place finisher, S1000RR BMW mounted Sweeney was only a further 0.091 behind McGee, with overall only 0.142 covering the top three finishers!

Michael Browne got the better of Thomas Maxwell to claim an excellent fourth place finish, as the improving James Chawke finalised the top six.

Concluding the top ten finishers from one of the all time great 1000cc races at Faugheen, were Ballymoney’s Darryl Tweed, Stephen Casey, Damian Horan and Stephen Tobin.

Faugheen 50: Open Championship race result, is as follows:

1 Derek Sheils
2 Derek McGee
3 Michael Sweeney
4 Michael Browne
5 Thomas Maxwell
6 James Chawke
7 Darryl Tweed
8 Stephen Casey
9 Damian Horan
10 Stephen Tobin
11 Liam Chawke
12 Paul Fallon
13 Noel Carroll

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles