Road Racing News

Enniskillen Road Races: TT 2018 Hero McGee Dominates Superbike Qualifying

Gelling quickly with the new just over three miles long Enniskillen course, Bennetts Lightweight TT runner up Derek McGee dominated this evening’s Superbike qualifying session, finishing fastest by over six seconds.

Lapping at 1 minute 45.148 seconds Mullingar’s McGee showcased again the qualities, that yielded him last year the Irish road race Superbike championship crown for the first time.

Nearest pursuer to the Noel Doyne backed racer was former Irish road race Senior Support champion Kevin Fitzpatrick (1.51.317), who was under 0.4 clear of third quickest Thomas Maxwell (1.51.679).

McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean (1.51.807) finished fourth fastest, whilst Graham Kennedy (1.52.308) quietly impressed in finishing fifth quickest.

Placing’s sixth, seventh and eighth on the qualifying time sheets were occupied respectively by Raymond Casey (1.53.860), Paul Gartland (1.55.982) and Irish roads stalwart Paul Cranston (1.56.407).

Finalising the top ten in qualifying were prospective Manx GP debutant David Murphy (1.58.148) and long term TT Races competitor Eric Wilson (1.58.208).

Enniskillen Superbike Qualifying results, are as follows:

1 Derek McGee 1.45.148
2 Kevin Fitzpatrick 1.51.317
3 Thomas Maxwell 1.51.679
4 Adam McLean 1.51.807
5 Graham Kennedy 1.52.308
6 Raymond Casey 1.53.860
7 Paul Gartland 1.55.982
8 Paul Cranston 1.56.407
9 David Murphy 1.58.148
10 Eric Wilson 1.58.208
11 Dean Campbell 1.59.058
12 Stephen McKnight 1.59.343
13 Alan Connor 1.59.451
14 Alan Johnston 2.00.359
15 Donald MacFadyen 2.05.050
16 Stephen Degnan 2.09.326

Words by Stevie Rial