Classic TT: Rampant Harrison Retains Yesteryear Superbike Title

Classic TT: Rampant Harrison Retains Yesteryear Superbike Title

Underlining his pre race favourite status, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison stormed to RST Superbike Classic TT success, as he chalked up his fourth Classic TT victory.

Never headed in the four lap race, the Bradford based racer underlined his growing Mountain Course maestro status , with a relentless display aboard the Silicone Engineering Racing ZXR 750 Kawasaki.

A delighted Horst Saiger over a minute behind the rampant Harrison, banked an excellent second place finish following a highly accomplished display from the 2017 TT Privateers champion.

Padgetts Racing’s Conor Cummins, having his first race outing aboard the exotic YZR 500 Yamaha, piloted in recent times by Bruce Anstey, concluded the rostrum finishers, as the Manxman took his total of Mountain Course rostrums for 2018 to three.

Team ACR’s Andy Dudgeon backing up his impressive practice week form, secured an excellent fourth place finish, finishing just over 31 seconds behind fellow countryman Cummins. Junior race runner up Jamie Coward got the maximum out of the Kraus Racing Kawasaki, to bank a top five placing, whilst reigning Senior Manx GP champion Michael Evans made it three Manx racers within the top six.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Cornwall’s Forest Dunn was seventh, Classic TT debutant Sam West bagged a solid eighth place finish as Ben Rea, Allan Brodie concluded the top ten finishers.

Unsurprisingly to some the attrition rate of the four lap race was high, with notable retirements including early rostrum finishing contenders Michael Rutter and Gary Johnson.

Others to run into problems included Davey Todd, Paul Jordan, Bimota’s Ben Wylie, David Johnson, Josh Brookes, Craig Neve, Danny Webb aboard the RG500 Suzuki, Team Classic Suzuki team mate Phil Crowe and the Oxford Products Ducati duo of James Hillier and Joe Thompson.

RST Superbike Classic TT race results, are as follows:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Horst Saiger
3 Conor Cummins
4 Andy Dudgeon
5 Jamie Coward
6 Michael Evans
7 Forest Dunn
8 Sam West
9 Ben Rea
10 Allan Brodie
11 Brian McCormack
12 Josh Daley
13 Michael Russell
14 Dennis Booth
15 Dave Hewson
16 Michael Hand
17 Morgan Govignon
18 Tom Weeden
19 Dan Ingham
20 Olie Linsdell
21 Jay Lawrence
22 Dave Madsen Mygdal
23 Andy Lovett
24 Adrian Harrison
25 Eric Wilson
26 Pete Murray
27 Alec Whitwell
28 Mike Carter
29 Rad Hughes
30 Andrew Cowie
31 Peter Creer
32 Neal Champion

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles