Around A Pound Tandragee 100: Sheils Holds Off Charging Kneen For Open Race Honours

Around A Pound Tandragee 100: Sheils Holds Off Charging Kneen For Open Race Honours

Holding off a late challenge from Tyco BMW’s Dan Kneen, Cookstown BE Racing’s Derek Sheils sealed in nigh on perfect conditions at Tandragee, for a second successive year, the Open race crown.

0.8 clear of works BMW racer Kneen, who set a blistering new outright lap record of 2 minutes 55.511 seconds, on the sixth and final lap, twice Irish road race Superbike champion Sheils, produced yet another formidable performance aboard the Cookstown BE Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki.

Photo by Rod Neill

Photo by Tommy Vennard

Completing the rostrum finishes was Derek McGee, who throughout the race was jostling for race lead, with fellow Irishman Sheils, before ultimately dropping back to third, having overshot on lap six, the last corner.

Temple Golf Club Yamaha’s William Dunlop battled his way to fourth, whilst Tandragee specialist Shaun Anderson impressed in finishing just over 0.3 of a second, behind the former Duke Road Race Rankings champion.

Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney sealed sixth, Tandragee debutant Davey Todd bagged seventh in front of fellow next gen rising roads star Adam McLean, as Kevin Fitzpatrick and the improving Thomas Maxwell rounded out the top ten finishers.

Others quietly going about their business, securing solid results, included Seamus Elliott 11th, Steven Procter 13th, Graham Kennedy 15th and James Chawke in 16th place.

Full race results, are as follows:

1 Derek Sheils
2 Dan Kneen
3 Derek McGee
4 William Dunlop
5 Shaun Anderson
6 Michael Sweeney
7 Davey Todd
8 Adam McLean
9 Kevin Fitzpatrick
10 Thomas Maxwell
11 Seamus Elliott
12 Paul Williams
13 Steven Procter
14 Andy Farrell
15 Graham Kennedy
16 James Chawke
17 Darryl Tweed
18 Davy Morgan
19 Gareth Evans
20 Tom Robinson
21 Joe Loughlin
22 Darren Cooper
23 Paul Cranston
24 Rhys Hardisty
25 Sam Johnson
26 Alan Connor
27 Damian Horan
28 Forest Dunn
29 Paul Gartland
30 Mike Norbury
31 Dennis Booth
32 Noel Carroll
33 Eric Wilson
34 Vassilios Takos
35 Alan Johnston

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles