Aberdare Park: Dixon Wins Welsh Open, Doncaster’s Goodings Second

Aberdare Park: Dixon Wins Welsh Open, Doncaster’s Goodings Second

Following in the footsteps of recent high-profile winners including Dan Cooper, John Simpson and Davey Todd, Ryan Dixon added his name today to the Aberdare Park Welsh Open winners list.

Piloting the Trickbits Racing Moto 2 Triumph, the Thundersport GP1 Elite Championship leader took the victory spoils in both Welsh Open encounters.

Sunday’s 15-lap Welsh open race saw Dixon, cousin of Moto 2 podium finisher Jake Dixon, finish 5.229 seconds ahead of York’s Joey Thompson with Doncaster’s Mark Goodings taking third.

In terms of overall Welsh Open aggregate timing standings, Dixon’s victorious advantage stood at almost 11 seconds over Goodings with newly R6 Yamaha mounted Thompson third.

Jay Bellers Smith finished lead Wales rider in fourth whilst top Aberdare Park newcomer in fifth was 2018 Senior Manx GP winner, top 15 TT finisher Matt Stevenson.

Completing the overall top ten finishers were William Holland, Ty Jones, Ben Harrison, Justin Collins and Marty Robbins.

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles