71st Gold Cup: Day Two Afternoon Races Wrap Up

71st Gold Cup: Day Two Afternoon Races Wrap Up

Afternoon racing at the 71st Scarborough Gold Cup, opened with a moment of history as Dean Harrison became the second most successful racer, in terms of race wins at Oliver’s Mount.

Mastering changeable conditions, Harrison and the Boyce Precision Engineering/Russell Racing surged to final Supersport (A) race spoils.

This victory upped his overall Scarborough wins CV to 110, one more than the number of wins collected by seven times Duke Road Race Rankings Champion, triple TT winner, Irish road racing wins record holder Ryan Farquhar BEM.

Celebrating yesterday his birthday, No Limits Racing front-runner Russell Brook pocketed the Supersport (B) race three title, finishing in excess of ten seconds ahead of race victor on Saturday, Toby Shann.

Dean Harrison’s Scarborough wins total enhanced further via success within the final, Motul Classic Superbike race held in for the first time this weekend, pretty much dry conditions!

Greenall Racing’s Derek Sheils, the early race leader took second with 2019 Gold Cup runner-up Mike Norbury acquiring third.

In terms of Supermono pilots, 186 plate carrier Jamie Kelman, polished off class success number three.

The final Road Racing News Lightweights race stint would yield a popular victory for East Yorkshireman’s Richie Welsh.

The fast-starting Welsh, final race winning margin stood at just over 2.1 seconds, as Laylaw Racing’s Ian Lougher finished top chaser to the Kingston Upon Hull rider.

Grant Whitaker made it a hat-trick of CB 500 race wins whilst 125/Moto 3 lead runner kudos, went again to Tony Flinton.

Before the blue-riband Steve Henshaw Gold Cup feature race, the re-started final, BDS Motorcycles F2 Sidecars race, after an incident at Memorial in involving James Saunders/Ben Stell, illustrated the pure essence the uniqueness of three wheeling thrills at Scarborough.

Team ARC Marin Motorsport’s Lee Crawford/Scott Hardie, for the third time this weekend, had the edge on 2023 Oliver’s Mount Sidecar Championship winners Steve Ramsden/Matty Ramsden and Carl Fenwick/Phil Knapton.

Post Dean Harrison’s third Steve Henshaw Gold Cup triumph, winners from this afternoon’s remaining three races, held over six-lap distances were Banbridge’s Shaun Anderson (Support Race 3) and Gary McCoy after a stirring battle for Super Twins race three honours with Michael Browne.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles