Road Racing News

67th Scarborough Gold Cup – Harrison Seals David Jefferies Cup

Producing another first class display at Oliver’s Mount, Dean Harrison wrapped up the David Jefferies Cup Supersport title for the third time yesterday, powering to back to back feature 600 victories.

Along the way breaking his previous class lap record, lapping at 1 minute 45.682 seconds, the Bradford racer again showcased his absolute mastery of England’s only pure road racing circuit.

He didn’t have it his own way though in the early stages of the eight lap race, as MSS/Hotties backed Adam McLean lead for the first three laps before Silicone Engineering Racing’s Harrison overtook for the race lead on lap four.

From here the four times international road race winner steadily built up a commanding advantage, ultimately securing race honours to the tune of plus five seconds over James Cowton who won a tight battle for second with fellow ZX6R Kawasaki mounted riders McLean and Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Ivan Lintin.

Team ILR’s Joe Thompson claimed a very creditable fifth place finish as Lightweight Manx GP winner Darren Cooper in sixth also impressed.

Craig Neve bagged seventh whilst 2016 Senior Manx GP champion Tom Weeden ended what’s been a challenging season for the hugely likeable racer with a solid eighth place finish.

Mark Goodings, Mike Norbury wrapped up the top ten finishers, whilst others to impress outside of the top 10 included Manxman Jamie Williams leading the Honda challenge in 11th, plus Hull’s Callum Ward and Andy Hayes respectively securing respectable 13th and 15th place finishes.

David Jefferies Cup – Supersport A Race 2 Results:

1 Dean Harrison
2 James Cowton
3 Adam McLean
4 Ivan Lintin
5 Joe Thompson
6 Darren Cooper
7 Craig Neve
8 Tom Weeden
9 Mark Goodings
10 Mike Norbury
11 Jamie Williams
12 Wayne Humble
13 Callum Ward
14 Paul Williams
15 Andy Hayes
16 Neil Bell
17 Russell Brook

Words by Stevie Rial