Road Racing News

64 Years Of The Scarborough Gold Cup

Its been 64 years since the first Scarborough gold cup at Oliver’s Mount. Over the years the prestigious road race meeting has seen many a famous name win the gold cup which includes Giacomo Agostini, Chas Mortimer, Phil Read, Barry Sheene, Wil Hartog, Mick Grant, Carl Fogarty, David Jefferies, Ian Lougher and John McGuinness.

asteve henshaw

Photo by Road Racing News

The feature gold cup since 1989 has been named after the late but great Steve Henshaw. Steve won back to back gold cup races in 1985 and 1986 and was hugely popular with all fans around Oliver’s Mount.

In recent years there has been four different gold cup winners in a row with Ian Hutchinson securing race victory in 2010, Ryan Farquhar victorious in 2011, Guy Martin winner for the eighth time in 2012 and Michael Dunlop recording a memorable victory last year. 2014 Scarborough gold cup is set to be one of the most competitive for many years with multiple riders in with a chance of winning one of the most prestigious trophies in road racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.