Road Racing News

57th Tandragee 100: Mullingar Missile Secures Supersport Honours

Living up to his nickname, the Mullingar Missile, Derek McGee stormed to victory in the Supersport race, at the 57th Tandragee 100.

Piloting his own teams YZF R6 Yamaha, he finished the reduced five lap race 16 seconds clear of reigning Irish road race Supersport champion, William Dunlop.

Photo by Rod Neill

Open race winner Derek Sheils was third, prospective TT newcomer Paul Jordan aboard the Site Sealants B&W Racing Kawasaki sealed fourth, whilst one of the undoubted performances of the race came from fifth place finisher, Graham Kennedy.

Completing the top six finishers was Welshman Paul Williams, whilst it was a case of experience and rising star quality behind in seventh and eighth, sealed respectively by Michael Weldon and Sean Connolly.

Darryl Tweed and the evergreen Paul Cranston wrapped up the top ten, two times Junior Manx GP winner Michael Sweeney was the most high profile non finisher, having slipped off uninjured at Castle Corner.

Full results from the Supersport race, at the Around A Pound Tandragee 100, are as follows:

1 Derek McGee
2 William Dunlop
3 Derek Sheils
4 Paul Jordan
5 Graham Kennedy
6 Paul Williams
7 Michael Weldon
8 Sean Connolly
9 Darryl Tweed
10 Paul Cranston
11 Thomas Maxwell
12 Rhys Hardisty
13 Sam Johnson
14 Steven Procter
15 Gareth Evans
16 James Chawke
17 Callum Laidlaw
18 Allan Brodie
19 Steve Tobin

Words by Stevie Rial