500 Classic TT – Preview

500 Classic TT – Preview

John McGuinness is aiming for 500 classic TT victory for the first time, as he pilots for third year in a row Team Winfield Paton.

Having lapped over 112 mph last year in the race, before mechanical issues struck, the 23 times TT winner is determined to secure race victory, which would be another momentous moment on the mountain course for the Isle of Man TT lap record holder.


Photo by Louis Porter

Team Winfield Paton team mate Ryan Farquhar is amongst the prime contenders for race victory. Ryan has had a highly productive 2015 road racing season, securing victories at North West 200, Tandragee 100 and Armoy Road Races.

He has the proven pedigree to seal success in 500 classic TT, as does Dean Harrison.

Dean is all set for competition on Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta, as he bids to end 2015 action on the most famous road racing circuit in the world, in positive fashion.

Since TT 2015 the 2014 lightweight TT winner, has hit excellent form, recording victories at Oliver’s Mount, Southern 100, plus podium finishes at Armoy and most recently fourth place finish in second supersport race at the Ulster Grand Prix.


Photo by Rod Neill

Black Eagle Racing team mate Lee Johnston, goes into the 500 classic TT arguably the most in form rider in pure road racing.

Having been victorious in 350 classic TT in 2014, expectations are high that general Lee can push for another standout result, to add his growing collection of dazzling accomplishments achieved during this season.

Adding more quality to the MV Agusta line up is Gary Johnson, who is all set for action on John Chapman Racing backed MV.

Two time TT winner Gary has fond memories of MV Agusta at TT Races, having competed for Valmoto in supersport races at TT 2013, securing highly creditable ninth place finish in second supersport encounter.


Molnar Manx Norton have an all star line up which consists of, 11 times TT winner Michael Dunlop, 2008 superbike TT winner Cameron Donald and TT 2015 privateers championship winner Dan Cooper.

All three riders are more than capable of standing on the top step of the podium, amongst the leading Honda mounted competitors include Davies Motorsport’s William Dunlop.

Irish road race supersport champion William, in 2013 finished a fine second in 500 classic TT, the Duke Road Race Rankings championship leader is looking forward to competing again for the highly respected Davies Motorsport outfit.

Team mate Alan Oversby, is regarded by many to be amongst the leading classic racing exponents in pure road racing.

He has the experience, pace, ability to record podium finish or better.


CSC Racing have one of the most standout line ups, in the form of third fastest rider in TT history James Hillier and runner up in 2009 senior TT Conor Cummins.

Keith Amor is all set to make his classic TT debut, piloting Dunnell Racing Norton. The three times international road race winner recently showed top class form at the Ulster Grand Prix, finishing an excellent fourth in second superbike race.

Michael Rutter is amongst the pre race favourites on Ripley Land Racing Norton. Four times a TT winner, Michael is tipped by many for 2015 500 classic TT victory.

Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin adds more international road race winning quality to the entry list, as he pilots Brian Richards backed Matchless.

Leading newcomer at the Ulster Grand Prix, Horst Saiger makes his classic TT debut piloting Egli Racing Vincent.

Reigning 500 classic TT winner Ian Lougher, is targeting back to back victories on Giovanni Cabassi/Flitwick Motorcycles Paton.


Photo by Louis Porter

Olie Linsdell returns to pure road racing action, as he competes on Flitwick Motorcycles Royal Enfield. Olie has the great experience of been the first 500 classic TT winner in 2013.

Rising road racing star Jamie Coward on the Craven Manx Norton, is confident of securing a world class result. In 2013 500 classic TT Jamie finished a superb third, following a highly accomplished all round performance.


Reigning Duke Road Race Rankings champion James Cowton competing for D&M Racing, has the undoubted talent to be in the mix for top class result.

2002 senior Manx Grand Prix winner Mark Parrett, 1993 formula 1 TT winner Nick Jefferies, Chris Swallow and Wattie Brown all have the pace to push for podium finishes.

The quality of the entry list is endless, highly respected competitors Dave Madsen Mygdal, Pete Boast, Maria Costello MBE, Mark Herbertson, Allan Brew and Barry Davidson are all entered.

500 classic TT victory, is a race win that any pure road racer would love on their CV. TT winners, rising stars, international road race winners, classic racing specialists, are all in contention for the famous victory.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *