2024 Southern 100 Preview Part 1 – Four Stroke Solo Races

2024 Southern 100 Preview Part 1 – Four Stroke Solo Races
We’ve entered the below one-week factor till the ever-popular, Isle of Man Steam Packet Company title sponsored Southern 100 returns.

As widely reported, event organisers (Southern 100 Racing) have attracted a superb Super Twins, Supersport, Superbike entry, featuring an array of TT stars, new wave roads talent, overseas aces, seasoned event regulars.

Impeccable across the 2022 meeting, Milwaukee BMW’s Davey Todd will be looking to join a select group of racers to retain the prestigious Solo Championship title.

Last month, the National Superstock Championship leader took pure road racing’s biggest prize, the Senior TT, firmly confirming his place as an undoubted 21st century great of the world’s most exciting form of motorsport.

Starting for certain roads insiders, a warm favourite for more ‘Friendly Races’ victories next week, the eight times NW200, TT winner combined is well-aware though that certain, fellow roads ‘Aliens’ are ready for Billown action.

One of them is now IOM resident, Honda Racing UK’s Dean Harrison.

Boasting a superb event racing resume, which features 25 S100 victories and three successive Solo Championship titles from 2017-2019, he is certain to be right at the sharp end again.

Officially the most successful racer in TT Races history, TT 2024 was truly history making for Hawk Racing’s Michael Dunlop.

Never to be underestimated, the mercurial Dunlop notorious for proving that the impossible is possible, has all aspects covered, to light-up this year’s S100.

It isn’t just the Todd, Harrison, Dunlop show though, others with designs on success a plenty include three times TT Privateers Champion, Jamie Coward (KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan).

Anticipated Super Twins front-running contender Michael Browne (IN Competition Aprilia), Dominic Herbertson (BE/RK Racing), Rob Hodson (SMT Racing), Paul Jordan (Jackson Racing – Honda).

Further depth to the four-stroke solo race fields, are provided by racers including:

Nathan Harrison (Honda Racing UK – Superstock powered), Michael Sweeney, Sam West, France’s quickest TT exponent Amalric Blanc, Russell Brook, Brook Built Racing team-mate Adrian Harrison.

Senior Manx Grand Prix winner Joe Yeardsley, Paul ‘Buzz Lightyear’ Cassidy, Dan Sayle, Paul ‘Potchy’ Williams, Jamie Williams, Belgium’s Jean Pierre Polet, fastest Pre-TT Classic debutant Luke Blevins.

Disclosed S100 newcomers include American Dave Thomas (Obsession Engineering – Aprilia), Canada’s Logan Barker (McCrum’s Motorcycles – Aprilia), Peoples Bike Team’s Grant Thomson.

Arran Hands, Finland’s top real road racer Erno Kostamo (38 Motorsport by Penz 13 – BMW) and the Trison McMullan Racing pairing of Keelim Ryan (ZX10R Kawasaki mounted), Lee Osprey (675 Triumph propelled).

With close fought, top-quality competition a certainty, all the usual contenders competing, plus next generation roads forces, the stage is set for classic solo races at the eagerly anticipated, latest Southern 100 edition.

Photos by Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles