Vauxhall International North West 200 – Stunning Feature Superbike Glory For Glenn Irwin

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Stunning Feature Superbike Glory For Glenn Irwin

At the end of a compelling feature Superbike race, it was Glenn Irwin who recorded not only his first North West 200 victory, but also his first international roads success.

On top form aboard the Be Wiser Ducati, Glenn lead throughout, ultimately on lap seven holding off the attentions of Triangle record holder Alastair Seeley, to seal a quite stunning race win.

Photo by Rod Neill

Alastair Seeley’s second place finish takes him up to 32 North West podium finishes, with four wins, one second, it’s fair to say it’s not been a bad meeting for the Wee Wizard!.

Tyco BMW team mate Ian Hutchinson finalised the podium finishers, Hutchy stated afterwards about just how quick the Be Wiser Ducati was on the straights, plus added his congratulations to the race winner.

Going un noticed by many, due to the aftermath of such a thrilling race, Michael Dunlop brought the Bennetts Suzuki home in an impressive fourth, good signs for the rider from Ballymoney, ahead of TT 2017.

Michael Rutter ended his excellent 2017 North West 200 campaign, with a solid fifth place finish.

Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison concluded the top six finishers.

Martin Jessopp (Riders Motorcycles BMW) was seventh, Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing) was eighth, William Dunlop (Temple Golf Club Yamaha) was ninth, whilst the top was rounded out by Cookstown BE Racing’s Derek Sheils.

Johan Fredriks lead the newcomers challenge in 12th place, finishing just in front of fellow Dutchman Jochem Van Den Hoek.

In total 17 riders finished a seven lap race, which saw a new international road race winner crowned, in Glenn Irwin.

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Feature Superbike Race Results:

1 Glenn Irwin
2 Alastair Seeley
3 Ian Hutchinson
4 Michael Dunlop
5 Michael Rutter
6 Dean Harrison
7 Martin Jessopp
8 Peter Hickman
9 William Dunlop
10 Derek Sheils
11 Daley Mathison
12 Johan Fredriks
13 Jochem Van Den Hoek
14 Adrian Clark
15 Forest Dunn
16 Bruce Birnie
17 Andrew Sellars

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles