TT 2022: Dunlop, Coward Head Sunday Supersport, Twins Practice

TT 2022: Dunlop, Coward Head Sunday Supersport, Twins Practice


Enjoying much more prominent fortunes aboard his own squads, Carl Cox Motorsport backed YZF R6 Yamaha, Michael Dunlop stormed to the top of Sunday afternoon’s Supersport practice leader-board.

His second timed lap, saw him lap at 18 minutes 14.481 seconds, equating in mph terms to 124.103 mph.

Nearest pursuer to Dunlop’s turn of speed was KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan’s Jamie Coward (123.311), who was just over seven seconds off the 19 times TT winner’s pace.

Third fastest behind Coward was world’s fastest road racer Peter Hickman (122.949).

Hickman piloting the 765cc Triumph, that was ineligible for the North West 200, looked in accomplished form as did fourth fastest, DAO Racing’s Dean Harrison (122.042).

Fifth, sixth quickest overall respectively were Rich Energy OMG Racing’s James Hillier (121.494) and previous pace setter Lee Johnston (120.846).

Whilst seventh to tenth fastest Supersport exponents were Rob Hodson (120.519), Dominic Herbertson (120.473), PreZ Racing’s Paul Jordan (120.423) and twice former class victor Gary Johnson (119.886).

Aside from the aforementioned, others making productive starts to TT 2022 included Michael Evans (119.46), Stephen Parsons (117.63), IRRC regular Mark Purslow (117.301) and top newcomer Joe Loughlin (114.992).

Super Twins:

Making the most of decent conditions all-round, No.1 plate holder Jamie Coward got his challenge for Super Twins TT success off to a best possible start, by finishing fastest by 9.339 seconds over reigning class Champion Michael Dunlop.

Coward who came so close to Lightweight TT victory in 2019, sole lap aboard Z650 Kawasaki machinery saw him lap at 117.573 mph.

Twins TT lap record holder Dunlop (116.631) like Coward lapped below 19 minutes 30 seconds.

Whilst P3 on the Twins practice leader-board went to long term pace setter, Dafabet Racing’s Gary Johnson (115.937).

Fourth speediest, 3.9 seconds behind Brigg’s Johnson was Cowton Racing’s Dominic Herbertson (115.552).

Fifth quickest was another rising, next generation roads talent, lead Team ILR/Mark Coverdale runner Jim Hind (115.08).

Hind’s illustrious team-mate Michael Rutter (114.874) placed sixth fastest whilst seventh-tenth quickest were the following:

Italian TT great Stefano Bonetti (114.121), TT Rider Liaison Officer John Barton (113.931).

North West 200 winner, hugely impressive Mountain Course debutant Joe Loughlin (113.361) and fellow NW200 Champion, current Newcomers A Manx GP victor Pierre Yves Bian (111.451).

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles