Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: Hickman Secures Third Event Triumph

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix: Hickman Secures Third Event Triumph

Producing today another faultless, ultra accomplished, world class performance, Peter Hickman took his tally of International road race victories to 12, as he secured a third Macau GP title.

Steadily reeling in early race leader Michael Rutter, by lap four Mountain Course lap record holder Hickman was into the race lead.

From here there was no stopping Hickman and the Aspire Ho/Bathams Racing BMW, as he lap by lap maintained an advantage of plus 0.7 of a second.

Photo by ID

Prior to red flags unfortunately entering the horizon on lap ten, his race lead over Rutter stood at plus one second.

With more than fifty percent race distance completed, Hickman was declared Macau GP champion for the third time.

Banking third behind the Aspire Ho/Bathams Racing duo of respectively S1000RR BMW, RC213V-S Honda mounted Hickman and Rutter, was Be Wiser Ducati’s Martin Jessopp.

Finishing fourth under 0.8 of a second behind now six times Macau GP podium finisher Jessopp, was IRRC Superbike champion Danny Webb who has enjoyed an extremely productive week in Macau.

One place behind the impressive Webb in fifth place was lead Kawasaki runner, Lee Hardy Racing’s Gary Johnson.

As anticipated Horst Saiger lead the small Yamaha challenge on route to finishing sixth, whilst seventh, eighth place finishers PR Racing’s David Johnson, Derek Sheils also showed consistent, solid pace.

Wrapping up the top ten finishers were lead newcomer Davey Todd, and on his return to competitive International road race action John McGuinness.

Outside of the first 10 finishers, others to impress included Czech roads legend Marek Cerveny (11th), Michael Sweeney (13th) and Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Paul Jordan (14th).

Full results from the Suncity Group Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix, are as follows:

1 Peter Hickman
2 Michael Rutter
3 Martin Jessopp
4 Danny Webb
5 Gary Johnson
6 Horst Saiger
7 David Johnson
8 Derek Sheils
9 Davey Todd
10 John McGuinness
11 Marek Cerveny
12 Sam West
13 Michael Sweeney
14 Paul Jordan
15 Ben Wylie
16 Phil Crowe
17 Erno Kostamo
18 Rob Hodson
19 Andre Pires
20 Dominic Herbertson
21 Daley Mathison
22 Xavier Denis
23 Steve Heneghan
24 Craig Neve

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles