Southern 100 Solo Championship Winners Listicle

Southern 100 Solo Championship Winners Listicle

The feature race of each Southern 100 meeting, the Solo Championship first ran in 1955 is one of pure road racing’s true ‘major’ races.

A who’s who of International road racing have enjoyed Solo Championship success including inaugural two time race winner Terry Shepherd, Ray McCullough, five times victor Ian Lougher, Bob Jackson, Phillip McCallen.

Guy Martin, 19 times TT winner Michael Dunlop, reigning Senior TT Champion Dean Harrison, Brian Reid, triple winner Jason Griffiths.

Seven times Duke Road Race Rankings winner Ryan Farquhar, Cameron Donald, Bill Smith, eight times World Champion Phil Read MBE and Con Law.

Not surprisingly the racer with the record for most Solo Championship wins is the legendary Joey Dunlop, who has secured no less than six premier class crowns.

The full list of those to become Southern 100 Solo Champion are as follows:

1955 Terry Shepherd
1956 Terry Shepherd
1957 Alastair King
1958 Terry Shepherd
1959 Bill Smith
1960 Ron Langston
1961 Phil Read
1962 Phil Read
1963 Chris Conn
1964 Dave Williams
1965 Dave Williams
1966 Selwyn Griffiths
1967 Bill Smith
1968 Steve Jolly
1969 Brian Steenson
1970 Billy Guthrie
1971 Bill Smith
1972 Charlie Williams
1973 Tom Herron
1974 Steve Tonkin
1975 Ray McCullough
1976 Joey Dunlop
1977 Joey Dunlop
1978 Joey Dunlop
1979 George Fogarty
1980 Dave Dean
1981 Dave Ashton
1982 Con Law
1983 Brian Reid
1984 Dave Pither
1985 Kenny Harrison
1986 Kenny Harrison
1987 Ian Bell
1988 Chris Dowd
1989 Dave Leach
1990 Dave Leach
1991 Joey Dunlop
1992 Phillip McCallen
1993 Joey Dunlop
1994 Jason Griffiths
1995 Bob Jackson
1996 Jason Griffiths
1997 Jason Griffiths
1998 Bob Jackson
1999 Joey Dunlop
2000 Blair Degerholm
2002 Ian Lougher
2003 Ryan Farquhar
2004 Ian Lougher
2005 Ian Lougher
2006 Cameron Donald
2007 Ian Lougher
2008 Ian Lougher
2009 Guy Martin
2010 Ryan Farquhar
2011 Michael Dunlop
2012 Michael Dunlop
2013 Guy Martin
2014 Guy Martin
2015 Guy Martin
2016 Michael Dunlop
2017 Dean Harrison
2018 Dean Harrison
2019 Dean Harrison

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles