NW200: Todd Gains Hard Earned Supersport Victory Double

NW200: Todd Gains Hard Earned Supersport Victory Double

The glorious weather, nigh-on perfect conditions around the Triangle continued ahead of the eagerly anticipated Tides Restaurant Supersport race.

No less than six, yes six lead changes arose on lap one which concluded with nine times TT winner, outright lap record holder Peter Hickman at the helm.

K2 Trooper Triumph pilot Hickman led Davey Todd by 1.329 seconds with Alastair Seeley, Dean Harrison, Michael Dunlop completing the top five.

Hickman continued to lead across lap two till Powertoolmate/Milwaukee Ducati’s Seeley, Milenco by Padgetts Todd overhauled him.

The stage was truly set now for another Supersport NW200 classic.

After lap two’s conclusion, Todd led the all-star leading pack now featuring new at the time Supersport lap record holder, Richard Cooper.

Cooper who ran straight on at the Magherabuoy Chicane on lap one, was now back firmly in the mix for race victory.

The order heading onto lap four was Todd, Seeley, Cooper, Hickman, Harrison, Dunlop.

Could anyone predict the race winner from here? Cooper had moved into first on lap four but could he hold off the determined Todd, the ‘Wee Wizard’ Seeley and Hickman.

Seeley’s challenge would end towards lap five’s completion after an error at the BetMcLean.com chicane whilst the top three going onto lap six, Cooper, Todd, Hickman, had all bettered the prior existing Supersport lap record.

Before Church Corner Todd re-took P1 from Cooper with Hickman, Harrison slightly dropping back.

Ultimately getting his race craft right, tenaciously maintaining first, securing back-to-back Supersport successes was Duke Road Race Rankings Champion Todd.

Todd emerged just 0.253 in front of Boyce Precision Engineering/Russell Racing’s Cooper.

Hickman putting to aside the drama of recent days, finished third with a new Supersport lap record to boot.

Bradford ace Harrison placed fourth, Dunlop took fifth, 28 times NW200 winner Seeley rounded out the top six.

Final placings within the top ten went to Adam McLean, BE/RK Racing’s Michael Browne, Super Twins race one runner-up Paul Jordan and road racing returnee Joe Loughlin.

Tides Restaurant Supersport Race Result:

1st – Davey Todd
2nd – Richard Cooper
3rd – Peter Hickman
4th – Dean Harrison
5th – Michael Dunlop
6th – Alastair Seeley
7th – Adam McLean
8th – Michael Browne
9th – Paul Jordan
10th – Joe Loughlin

11th – Matthieu Lagrive
12th – Gary McCoy
13th – Emmett O’Grady
14th – Stefano Bonetti
15th – Kris Duncan
16th – Mark Conlin
17th – Don Gilbert
18th – James Chawke
19th – Jamie Williams
20th – Toby Shann

21st – Yann Galli
22nd – Patricia Fernandez West
23rd – Rad Hughes
24th – Dennis Booth
25th – Stephen Degnan
26th – Brian Fuidge
27th – Andy Sellars

Photo credit: Tommy Vennard

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles