NW200: Seeley’s 28th Triangle Course Triumph

NW200: Seeley’s 28th Triangle Course Triumph

Even before the Briggs Equipment Superstock race took place, major drama struck the FonaCAB & Nicholl Oils North West 200, following the update disclosed by Josh Brookes that the FHO Racing BMWs had been excluded from tonight’s 1000c encounter.

More to follow on this topic, once further information is available.

Back to the Superstock race opener, another Triangle course masterclass from Alastair Seeley.

The Synetiq BMW rider during early race stages was embroiled in a keenly contested contest alongside prior Supersport race winner, Davey Todd.

Both would break the existing stock 1000 lap record on lap two and remain closely matched on lap three before Todd’s race winning pursuit effectively ended, via a mistake at Magherabuoy Chicane.

This enabled Seeley to surge clear, aided by a second successive class lap record of 4 minutes 19.525 seconds, equating speed wise to 124.196 mph.

By the end of lap four, the ‘Wee Wizard’ held a race lead in excess of eight seconds.

Homing in on NW200 victory No.28, red flags unfortunately popped up on the sixth and final lap, following an incident at Dhu Varren involving Nathan Harrison.

With more than fifty percent race distance covered, Seeley had successfully made it 28 North West 200 victories and 41 podium finishes in total.

Reigning Duke Road Race Rankings Champion Todd battled his way back to second, overhauling 21 times TT winner Michael Dunlop, who wrapped up the first three finishers.

Fourth placed Dean Harrison led the Kawasaki charge, Michael Rutter took fifth whilst Lami OMG Racing’s James Hillier topped the Yamaha challenge in sixth.

The remainder of the top ten was culminated by John McGuinness MBE, Craig Neve, PRL-Moto Hub’s Sam West, triple Manx GP winner Michael Evans.

NW200 – Briggs Equipment Superstock Race Result:

1st – Alastair Seeley
2nd – Davey Todd
3rd – Michael Dunlop
4th – Dean Harrison
5th – Michael Rutter
6th – James Hillier
7th – John McGuinness MBE
8th – Craig Neve
9th – Sam West
10th – Michael Evans

11th – David Datzer
12th – Erno Kostamo
14th – Stefano Bonetti
15th – Brian McCormack
16th – Lukas Maurer
17th – Emmett O’Grady
18th – Raul Torras Martinez
19th – Matthieu Lagrive
20th – Ryan Gibson

21st – Andrea Majola
22nd – Jonathan Perry
23rd – Phil Stewart
24th – Amalric Blanc
25th – Kamil Holan
26th – Anthony Redmond
27th – Kris Duncan
28th – Leon Jeacock
29th – Nadieh Schoots
30th – Dave Hewson

31st – Chris Sarbora
32nd – Jean Pierre Polet
33rd – Don Gilbert
34th – Martin Morris
35th – Andy McAllister
36th – Liam Chawke
37th – Paul Cranston

Photo credit: Tommy Vennard

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles